National Drapery

Drapery & Curtains
116 Tycos Drive Toronto ON M6B 1V9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

64%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for National Drapery

Average customer rating:
6.9 10 (21 reviews)

Sort by

Quality, Service & Knowledge
Quality, Service & Knowledge
16 reviews Richmond Hill, ON

First Review

1/10

Drapery

I would not recommend this company, they came to my home had a preset notion of what they wanted to do, only showed us a few fabrics sample, even when we asked to see more, they recommended only one look, we trusted them because they are in decor magazines and the end result was an overpriced piece of fabric hanging from our windows. This is really what it looked like, even their own installer shook his head! We then paid more to fix the problems, they took our drapes back to work on them, said they had no more matching fabric, and returned the drapes damaged to us. We tried to resolve the matter but in the end replaced the drapery completely at even more cost to us with another company. Lesson learned - bigger companies that advertise more are not always better. To this day I still feel completely ripped off.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and we are so sorry for your unpleasant experience. If in any way we made you feel rushed into making a decision, we apologize.

We would like to make it up to you. Please call us and speak to our service manager so that we can find a way to redeem this situation.

Again, our apologies.

Cindy  from York
Cindy from York
1 review York, ON
10/10

Curtains to draperies

I wanted to get some drapers for my living room in my new home. I didn't know where to start (I've never done renovations before!) but a good friend of mine told me to check out National Drapery for custom draperies. I thought getting custom drapes would be too expensive but I'm definitely glad I made the decision to do so. The initial visit to my home and assessment by the designer was a very rewarding experience. Funny thing is she seemed to know what I wanted for the room better than I knew myself. The designer was very knowledgeable (I believe she has a degree in Interior Design), friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend National Drapery to anyone looking for high-end custom draperies and professional service. I love receiving compliments from my friends and family about my beautiful living room now. Hope this was helpful!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words! Yes, sometimes people’s ideas of what they want change after seeing a few samples, or after getting input from our highly qualified designers. They are all passionate about interior design, and are familiar with everything from the latest trends to the most classic styles. We are glad you had such a wonderful experience and hope you’ll be back again!

Sarah Richards in Toronto
Sarah Richards in Toronto
1 review TORONTO, ON
10/10

Drapery and Blinds for New Home

My husband and I recently moved into a new home and the window coverings needed serious updating. We had heard about National Drapery through friends of my parents and decided to have somebody come out to advise us on what would best suit our needs. Josie came out and she was fantastic! She was very patient, warm and friendly and helped us choose some beautiful roman blinds for our bedroom and Silhouettes for our Living Room and Dining Room. The installer was great and was happy to work around our busy work schedules. Everything looks amazing and we get so many compliments from family and friends!! I would definitely recommend National Drapery to anybody looking for beautiful coverings, great service and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the great review! Josie is a gem, we are lucky to have her! Customer service is extremely important to us, so it’s great to hear that you had a great experience. With great products and prices, what more could you ask for! We also appreciate you spreading the word- we love referrals and hope that you’ll be back the next time you need drapes or upholstery!

Tori in Toronto
Tori in Toronto
7 reviews Toronto, ON
6/10

California Shutters

We ordered California shutters from this company for my daughter's room. We wanted a roller blind behind the shutters to keep the light out. We have an old house and the window in my daughter's room was an irregular shape, but they did a pretty good job of installing the shutters and the blind. We started this project with enough lead time such that we weren't pressed for time when the product was ready. It was a pretty good experience in all, but the reason why I would not give this company a higher rating is because just over a year after the shutters and blind were installed, the cheap, flimsy plastic chain that they supplied us with which to raise and lower the roller blind snapped right in two and although they had previously sent us joiner clips, the chain was totally broken. I found their customer service to be not the best because they charged us for the installation of a new chain (had to pay for the chain as well) and only provided us with a replacement metal chain after I insisted that the plastic one was not acceptable. It wasn't the best experience. We had the blinds for just over a year and although we were happy with the overall quality of the shutters, the blind chain issue was really disappointing. In my opinion we should not have been given the cheap beaded chain to begin with as it was of very poor quality and was not made to last very long at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This comment raises an excellent point so thanks for your feedback! The reason why we don’t recommend the sturdier, metal chain relates to one of the key safety features. Plastic chains were specifically designed with a breakaway mechanism that activates once a certain pressure is exceeded. This protective measure is necessary for children and animals, to avoid serious harm should they get caught while playing with the cord. As all of our products have a lifetime guarantee, we always replace the chain free of charge. We also offer free in-home service calls for one year after the date of purchase. If an issue occurs after the one year mark, we do charge for in-home maintenance visits, as is standard protocol with most household installed products. But again, there is no charge if the product is brought to us. Safety is always our first priority, so we hope that this explains our recommendation, and apologize for not clearly explaining it in the first place.

CG in midtown
CG in midtown
7 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Hunter Douglas blinds

Got some Hunter Douglas Nantucket and Duette blinds during their annual January sale (1/2 price, no HST). Great deal, high quality product. Designer was responsive to our needs and was knowledgeable about the product. She did accurate measurements, asked good questions and ensured the order was delivered within 3 weeks. Their installer Yong, was excellent. He installed the blinds in an efficient and professional manner and provided good tips around maintenance, warranty, and usage. A very positive experience overall, and the blinds look fabulous!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

What a great review- thanks! People wait all year for our January sale and we are glad to hear you were able to get the best products at the best prices! Our designers and our installers know our products inside and out, and always ensure that you are getting the best products and advice for your specific needs. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to be serving you again sometime soon!

Sandra in Richmond hill
Sandra in Richmond hill
1 review RICHMOND HILL, ON
10/10

Custom Drapery and Blinds

Excellent customer service. Came to my house to help me choose new blinds and drapery. We had a challenge to cover some of our two-storey high windows and Jennifer had great ideas for us. She was efficient and professional. She replied promptly to emails and questions in a professional manner. She is a great decorator and salesperson. She got me so excited about her work and with the project. She made shopping at home a pleasure. Installation was timely and hassle free. I am a return customer to National Drapery from 7 years ago and will continue to use them. I have referred several friends/family to National Drapery and everyone is as happy with the shopping experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We can’t thank you enough for taking the time to write such a glowing review! You were in great hands with Jennifer who is just as smart as she is stylish and savvy! She is a real expert with a lot of enthusiasm, so we are glad she made your drapery shopping experience a fun one!

We have been in business since 1964, and we have loyal customers such as yourself to thank! I hope that the family and friends you’ve referred over the years have been equally enthusiastic about the products and service we offer. Thanks again!

Rebecca in Richmond hill
Rebecca in Richmond hill
1 review RICHMOND HILL, ON
0/10

Drapery

Considering you pay so much for custom draperies; one would think they will give you excellent customer service. They verbally give you one estimated delivery date and the contract has a different estimated delivery date. I am moving into a new home we started the order process a month ago and now they are telling me that I will have no blinds until at least 3 weeks after I move into my new house. Which means I have absolutely nothing in bedrooms or bathrooms for 3 weeks. I asked for estimated delivery date, or weekend installation, their answer is "cannot guarantee".
You spend so much money and you have no a big "NO GUARANTEE". Wow, the only guarantee is the bad project management and a big fat guarantee of bad customer service! They haven't placed the order but you cannot get your deposit back either.
Will not recommend this company to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with the experience. All of our draperies are done in house, so it is easier to estimate the completion time. Blinds are ordered from the distributor so which gives us less control over the delivery date. If there is anything we can do in the future to remedy this issue, please give us a second chance to prove how much we value customer service and your satisfaction.

Isabel in Orangeville
Isabel in Orangeville
1 review Orangeville, ON
10/10

Sheers and draperies for two bedrooms

Forty years ago when we had just moved into this house, National Drapery did an excellent job on the sheers and draperies for several windows. Fast forward about 38 years and our two larger bedroom window treatments needed to be replaced. I called ND and Shelley came out and helped us choose the most beautiful draperies I've ever seen. As it was a custom order, the installer did a perfect job of hanging them.

I'm the second generation of National Drapery lovers as my mom had ND do her draperies many years ago.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow! A return customer after forty years! That is incredible. I’m sure that a lot of drapery business have come and gone in that time, but National Drapery remains today as it did when it started, committed to the highest quality products and services that stand the test of time. Thank you so much for your kind words, and we hope that you’ll keep us in mind for any future drapery or upholstery needs!

Hallae in North york
Hallae in North york
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Drapes, Sheers, and Hardware in Condo

Our initial meeting with Jennifer seemed very promising - we were to have drapes, sheers, bars and hardware to pull the drapes back installed on all the windows. When the installment day came all of the drapes and sheers were too long, and the hardware to pull back the curtains were non existent. They were fairly quick in altering the too long drapes (though I am still waiting for them to take back the drapes and sheers from the main window for alteration), but not only did the hardware never show now they were denying that we ever made this request. Besides a forced "And we apologize" all I have been told is that yes, the outrageous sum that has been paid in full will sit as I wait on their blatant mistakes.
In short, they are unorganized, unapologetic, unreliable, and over priced for such horrible service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I’m sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience. We hope that you recieved the altered product back in a timely manner, and that in the end you were satisfied with the final product. It doesn’t happen often, but sometimes we make mistakes that a simple apology can’t always fix. But we hope that at least you took comfort in the fact that we stood behind our work and didn’t finish the job until you were satisfied.

Kelli in North York
Kelli in North York
3 reviews North York, ON
9/10

Draperies for living room and bedroom

National Draperies is wonderful at both helping you select your draperies and producing a beautiful product installed professionally. They need to work on their ability to meet estimated delivery dates and their communication with customers when there are delays. Yet, that being said, I would definitely use this company again when purchasing custom draperies.

Here is my story. The staff in the showroom were very helpful getting me started and Amy, who came to my home, was wonderful, patient and helpful in guiding me to my final choices.

Once they were finally ready, the installer worked with my schedule and arrived at the agreed upon time. The draperies are gorgeous, well made and work fabulously in my home.

The problem occurred in between these two events. When I placed the order towards the end of March, I was told that I could expect my draperies around the end of April, at the very earliest (April 30th was the estimate delivery date). When I called in the first week of May to check on their status, I was given a very unoptimistic "late next week". Two weeks later I called again. They said they would call me back. After waiting an hour for the return call, I tried again and was told that the staff actually have to leave the showroom and go to where the draperies are made to find out their status. Again I was told that someone would call me back. About a half-hour later, another staff member called to tell me they weren't ready yet and to call the following Thursday if I hadn't heard from them. By now we are well into May and no reason for the delay has been given. Finally, when I called again on the following Thursday, as instructed, I happened to catch Amy in the office. She told me that they were almost done and I would hear from the installer in the next few days. The following Monday, Yong called and the drapes were installed the next day - June 1st. One month later than expected and exactly 10 weeks from the date of order.

My issue is not that it took so long, they were definitely worth the wait, it is the lack of information during the process. It would have been better if they had just told me it would be several more weeks when I first called at the beginning of May. Also, why can't the showroom staff find out relatively quickly the status of an order? Why do they have to leave the showroom? Do they not have some kind of computerized order management system so they staff can track their orders? This lack of information is poor customer service. Custom draperies are expensive. Customers have the right to know how their orders are progressing. It is for this reason that I can not give this company 10 stars.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your honest advice- feedback like this is integral to helping us improve customer satisfaction. We have been working on ensuring that the lines of communication between the fabric manufacturer, the seamstresses and the office managers are open so that we can better anticipate and communicate delays. We apologize for the oversight, but are glad to hear that at least your draperies were worth the wait.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Drapery & Curtains pros in York?