Hammond Plumbing & Heating Inc

Plumbing
625 Wabanaki Drive Kitchener ON N2C 2G3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Plumbing
Hammond Plumbing & Heating Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Hammond Plumbing & Heating Inc

Average customer rating:
6.9 10 (27 reviews)

Sort by

Rolf in Cambridge
Rolf in Cambridge
1 review Kitchener, ON
1/10

Misleading

My water heater became defective, still under 2+ years warranty. I told the technician and gave him copies of the evidence. His response: 'the boss has to decide' who said it was out of warranty - without checking my customer file or the manufacturer. I had confirmed the warranty with the manufacturer (John Woods) on the website and by phone, and told the tech to get and install the replacement. I called the office woman with my confirmation, which she disputed. Later the heater was installed 'under warranty', without a word as the office clearly had determined this to be so.
Two problems: #1 'the boss' rejected my warranty assertion out of hand.
Problem #2, I used Hammonds 'Seniors Discount' policy on labour', before, as I am a senior . I enquired and was told installation labour charges do not qualify.
Ethics?, Trustworthy?, Policy Consistency? . Customer care? All that went out of the window when Hammond's family business was sold to a large corporate operation a few years go. The tech did his job, management failed doing theirs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We regret that you have concerns and would like to gather more information in order to provide resolution. Please contact us at CustomerService@ServiceExperts.com with your full name on the account, address and phone number and we will follow up with you.

Debbie
Debbie
1 review Kitchener, ON
10/10

Service

We had a water softner, that was no longer working, removed, laundry tub taps replaced and water shutoff valve replaced. The work was done by Matt Jones and Tyrell Wolf and they did an excellent job right down to the clean-up!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for being a loyal customer and sharing your positive experience!

Anonymous
Anonymous
0 reviews Cambridge, ON
10/10

Replaced KItchen sink drain & water shut off valves.

Serviceman Rob checked problem and explained what repairs were needed to be done. He then retrieved the parts required from the van and completed the job in a quick, professional manner and cleaned up afterwards. I was satified with his work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to mention your satisfaction with our services!

0/10

Overcharging

Hired Hammond to drain lines in basement for a Reno. Was told it would take half a day, be labour intensive, and cost $1400.00. Sounded a little high, but was told they would drop the price if it was an easy job. 2 plumbers were here for an hour and 15 minuets and they dropped the price by $100. Very disappointed in this service and will not be contacting them for any work in future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello. We regret that you have concerns and would like to gather more information. Please contact us at CustomerService@ServiceExperts.com with your full name on the account, address and phone number and we will follow up with you.

Qian in Newmarket
Qian in Newmarket
1 review Kitchener, ON
0/10

Overcharging, not showing up and threaten to send customer to collection agency!

If you want to get overcharged double the hours than were originally agreed upon, wait for their service man to show up 5 hours later because somebody forgot to make notes on the scheduled service agreed upon over the phone or whatever the reason, but later on find out that they didn't know they were supposed to come, and then in the very end of it all get threatened to get sent to the collection agency because you don't agree to the amount they are charging you, this is the place to go. Long story short:
1. I decided to give this company a try due to their good online review, it turned out to be the complete opposite. After explaining what needs to be done, I was quoted for two hours of labour plus parts. My husband later called again to speak with another man who can tell how long the work should take and we agreed to it. And I made it clear that if they could not do the removal within an hour and the reconnect within an hour that we would not use them.
2. The job was for our tenant, so I wasn't there. I ordered a new quartz countertop and sink. The plumber needed to remove the sink and the countertop (as was agreed upon) before the installation and come back after to hook everything back up. The plumber suggested that we wait for two days to let the countertop settle. So the next service was scheduled for Friday morning before 12:00 p.m.
3. Then I got a text from my tenant at around 3:30 pm on Friday saying that no one showed up yet. She was not very happy because she couldn't use their drinking water and she needed to leave the house. I called the plumbing company. THERE WAS NO RECORD OR NOTE mentioning that they were supposed to come on Friday morning. Now they couldn't make it because it was too late, and we had to wait for Monday! There was no way my tenant would wait for Monday without a sink and drinking water. I insisted that they finish the job by the end of the day, and they agreed that they would get the job done. They eventually did make it, around
4. Weeks later, I got a invoice of $565.34!!!! The labour charge equaled to 4.5 hours! Apparently they sent two plumbers instead of one to remove the sink and countertop (we were charged for the second plumber as well), they apparently also charge TRAVEL TIME and because they had to finish the 2nd service late in the day, they charged me overtime while it was fully their fault for not showing up! My husband has been doing kitchen service for over 12 years, removing many bigger countertops by himself, and he is not a big guy. And according to Hammond Plumbing, they ALWAYS send two plumbers if there is a countertop to be removed, which no one mentioned in the beginning while we were talking to them!
5. So we phoned our tenant to ask how many hours they spent. Our tenant said that both services were under an hour. We phoned Hammond Plumbing right after and they said they would look into the recorded phone conversations, which they always record for training purposes and in these sorts of cases.
6. After they reviewed the recording, Samantha(?) called me back saying that they can give us a DISCOUNT, and now I only need to pay three hours of labour: One hour for the first service and two hours for the 2nd service. We still found it hard to believe because we did the same reno at our house two years ago, at that time we had three sinks that needed a plumbing job. The plumber didn't take 2 hours to finish three sinks plus installing three faucets.
7. So we went to their office to try and talk to Samantha, after a while she didn't want to talk anymore (conversation was going nowhere), doesn't suggest that we talk to the owner because the result would be the same but still says that she'll pass on the message, meanwhile making threats about sending us to the collection agency! Althought we made around 5-7 phone calls, only 3 have been recorded and the rest have been conveniently lost.

What a good business to be in. Just bait your customer with a low quote, overcharge them later, and if they don't agree, threathen to send them to the collection agency!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello.
We apologize for your experience and would like to look into your situation. Please contact us at CustomerService@ServiceExperts.com with your full name on the account, address and phone number and we will follow up with you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Saskatoon, SK

First Review

10/10

Toilet and kitchen Faucet

Jake arrived on time, replaced a toilet that wasn't flushing properly and changed a faucet in the kitchen sink. He was efficient, pleasant, knew what he was doing, explained why he was doing it, and cleaned up after himself! I would certainly recommend him and Hammond's to anyone needing plumbing services.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello! Thank you for this great review and recommendation!

Saima in Toronto
Saima in Toronto
1 review Kitchener, ON
0/10

Over Invoiced Bill ! Wrongful inflation of labour hours

Buyer Beware. This company over-invoiced their labour. For a total of just under 2 hours of work, they charged me 4.5 hours of labour. I lodged a complaint and was told it will be resolved into a final invoice. I even emailed the company letting them know the moment the plumber left... the contact at the company who took my order in the first place was helpful but doesn't seem to have any coordination with their billing department

I spoke to them; emailed them but to this date they keep sending me emails to make payments for non-existential hours & threatening to take me to claims. This is harassment and a fraud for over-invoicing a customer.
I chose this company thinking them the best professionals; but its turning out to be the worst choice.
Scope of Works: Drilling a hole into the kitchen counter to install a drinking faucet and attach a small water filter to the pipe.

Was this review helpful?
Ralph in Kitchener
Ralph in Kitchener
2 reviews Kitchener, ON
10/10

Great service as always

I have lived close to Hammond's Wabanaki location for 27 years and have used them many times over the years for all my big and small plumbing issues. Their customer service is second to none. When I go into the show room to ask about any DIY project they always have time for some friendly advice. On several occasions I have needed a small part to complete a project and they have given me the item at no charge.
Once I was looking for a replacement shower head hose and went to the big box retailer where it was purchased. The retailer was going to special order the hose for me and charge me for it and said I would have to wait several weeks for delivery. I decided to check with Hammond even though the hose wasn't purchased there. Hammond staff informed me that there was a manufacturer's warranty on the hose and replaced it for me free of charge - although I did buy them a box of donuts for their trouble.
Today's minor issue was a leaky tap in my basement. I removed the tap and brought it into Hammond to see if it could be salvaged by replacing the washers. After inspecting the tap they gave me an honest assessment of it's corroded condition and advised me to get a new tap. For a couple of bucks more than the replacement washers and screws would have cost me, I bought the new tap. I installed it in minutes once I got home and the leak problem was resolved.
As always Hammond solved my problem at a reasonable price and made the entire project easier for me.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON
0/10

House main drain and 1 other pipe

Called Hammond on Monday to come out and snake our main drain as we were having a draining problem and a blockage. They said they'd come out today (Tuesday) between 12-5pm. Everything was great up to this point.

Today at 5:30pm we hadn't heard from them. I called them and they said their day plumber had already gone home and so had their dispatch, so they'd call me back in 10 minutes to give me an update. After an hour I called them again and they told me they'd be sending the after hour/on call plumber to come. And that they'd call when they were on their way.
No call still but they did show up finally at about 7:30pm.

After snaking the main drain he stated that he poked a hole in the blockage but it was still there and there was nothing else he could do because he didn't have the equipment.

At this point not only where they late, they didn't fix the problem just "poked a hole in it". Didn't even come prepared after being told what the issue was so they knew full well they'd most likely need certain equipment. And we didn't have them do the second pipe at this point because we don't need a plumber to just poke a hole in something we need them to fix the problem. But hey, they can come out another time (at an additional fee of course) with the appropriate equipment and actually fix it.

Will not recommend them, not happy. Poor communication, poor service. If they would have done what they said they'd do then the value would have been great.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hammond Plumbing & Heating Inc

Hammond Plumbing and Heating

CATEGORIES
Plumbing
WEBSITE
http://www.hammondplumbing.com/
PAYMENT METHOD
VISA, MASTERCARD, CASH, CHEQUE
LICENSES
PLUMBING, GAS FITTING
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.