Student Works Painting

Paint & Wallpaper Contractors
Markham ON L3P 7P1
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

87%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of Award '22 winnerBest of Award '22winner

Reviews for Student Works Painting

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (459 reviews)

Sort by

Jean-Paul Pham Roseview Avenue Ottawa
Jean-Paul Pham Roseview Avenue Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Exterior Painting of our Home

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

"Student Works did an amazing job in our house. Exterior painting was professionally done exactly to my specifications. The project did not run over the estimated budget and period. I would definitely recommend Student Works. "

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for reviewing Bryan's work so favourably!

Joseph Carlomusto St Catharines
Joseph Carlomusto St Catharines
1 review Saint Catharines, ON
10/10

Exterior Apartment Building Maintenance work

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Last year my dad and his partners used the service of Student Works Painting on my recommendation at an apartment building that I manage for them. We were very happy with the efforts of Crystal Gilpin's division who completed the work. She has now been running the business for 3 years and I found her great to work with. Should you need any interior / exterior / commercial / residential painting or staining work this year, Crystal has some great incentives starting now. She is starting to book up her season so that she can focus on exams in April, and begin painting starting May 1st. Her cell phone number is 905-321-3240 and her email address is cgilpin@uoguelph.ca

Please feel free to forward this to anyone who may need a good contact for a painting company this season.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for recognizing Crystal's efforts!

Dr Jovey Mississauga
Dr Jovey Mississauga
1 review MISSISSAUGA, ON
10/10

Home Painting

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

“Anna and her team came when they promised. They performed high quality work and cleaned up completely after they were finished. I would highly recommend the Student Works Painting team.”

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your kind review. Anna is very pleased to have her team recognized.

Joseph Slonimsky in North york
Joseph Slonimsky in North york
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Painting upstairs room with 3 different colors

Arrived on time, knew what he was doing, was efficient and kept the place neat and tidy. Cleaned up and gave me a progress report every day. (only took 2 days).

Very happy.

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for providing positive feedback for our services. We appreciate it.

Bill in Scarborough
Bill in Scarborough
2 reviews Scarborough, ON
1/10

Painting Job

So I hired Student Work Painting to paint the outside of my house.
Worst. Experience. Ever

#1 They did not fulfill the contract, the job was suppose to take 1 day it took 5.

#2 They did a poor job; did not use primer and refused to sand (because it was too hard??!!)

#3 They were messy; they left a mess of paintbrushes and dirty clothers outside my house and went to use the bathroom in my house, and I swear this is true, THREE TIMES in a day!!! (That may explain why the job took so long).

#4 They were negligent; they let my 2 dogs escaped when I had warned them, the day of and before, to close the door behind them. I had to run down 2 blocks to get them (thank god, nothing happened to them)

do not get anywhere near these guys!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Close business.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi
We recently became involved with Home Stars and saw your review. First, we are sorry, I certainly can understand why you are disappointed and view our service negatively. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to fix the contract that was not completed and do anything that we can to rectify this bad experience.
Please call our Customer Service Manager - Jeannine at 800 465 2029.

Katie in Oakville
Katie in Oakville
4 reviews Oakville, ON
0/10

interior painting

They were contracted to paint the entire interior ceilings, walls and trim. We had bought the house with an early close date to get the painting done - thinking 2 weeks was sufficient. However, they arrived didn't prep properly so the trim paint started peeling right away!!! They did not clean up after themselves, left the closet doors off, got paint on our rugs, windows, and newly refinished hard wood floors!!! In addition it took 2 months to get them back into the house to fix the errors - they were not prepared and took 3 weeks to complete - not to mention got paint dust all over the entire house!!! In the they still didn't do it properly. Horrendous work. Never again!!!

Review has 1 previous version
Approximate cost of services:
$3,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize for this job that did not go well. We would appreciate the opportunity to make the situation right. We have a warranty and would be interested in meeting your needs. thank you

Truly disapointed in Kingston Ontario
Truly disapointed in Kingston Ontario
1 review Kingston, ON
0/10

Interior staricase

We hired Student works Painting to do an extremely small job however it was in a staircase and required a taller ladder. Gave deposit and said would come the first rainy day as they were currently busy with exterior painting.

Never showed up. Called numerous times and never returned my call. Have spent a month trying to get our deposit back and still have not gotten it back. The only person you can deal with is the answering service that they use in the off season in which they pass messages on and they never get returned.

I have never dealt with a company with worse customer service than students works painting. They dont care about the customer or what you need done because they are students. There website has no where to contact someone if there is something wrong. These days it is all about customer service and they have none.

I would never recommend them for any job whether they provide good refferences.

Truly the most disappointing company.

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We recently became involved with Home Stars and saw your review. First, we are sorry, I certainly can understand why you are disappointed and view our service negatively. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to fix the contract that was not completed and do anything that we can to rectify this bad experience.
Please call our Customer Service Manager - Jeannine at 800 465 2029.

MS in Richmond Hill
MS in Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
0/10

House Painting

Worst contractor experience ever!
Contracted with Charlotte Chiu to paint exterior of house. Did not start on agreed date. She left the country and passed my contract on to Luka. Luka could not be contacted, despite multiple attempts, so we contacted the client hotline mulitple times over a several weeks and our call was never returned. After serveral more calls and escalation I was finally able to speak to Jamie Lee Mitchell the GM who passed the contract on to Keith Ellis who also failed to return calls. After two months of no returned calls and continued missed commitments I cancelled and got my depost back. They clearly did not want me as a customer. The organization is completely unprofessional.

Approximate cost of services:
$825.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We recently became involved with Home Stars and saw your review. First, we are sorry, I certainly can understand why you are disappointed and view our service negatively. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to fix the contract that was not completed and do anything that we can to rectify this bad experience.
Please call our Customer Service Manager - Jeannine at 800 465 2029.

DBT in Newmarket
DBT in Newmarket
7 reviews Newmarket, ON
0/10

Exterior Painting

Learned many lessons (some again) hiring Student Works Painting.

First: all areas are franchised out to students. In other words, the student 'owns' the company. There is no real recourse to anyone of any authority above the student/painter with whom you signed the agreement. The "head office/company" basically consists of an answering service.

Second: if you expect to get what you pay for here, forget it. Crews are trained NOT TO PAINT areas where the home owner will likely not look. We had allowed a "training" crew to come to our home to do preliminary work and overheard some of the so called "coaching" going on. As much time was spent teaching the crew how to avoid work as was spent on how to actually do any painting. Not that you should expect a professional level of job from students in the first place. They are students, afterall.

Third: if you have to hound a contractor to get them to START the work, you'd be better off cancelling the contract and finding another contractor. Chances are if they won't start they are NEVER going to finish.

Being fairly reasonable and understanding we were basically hiring untrained students we were very careful to give the "owner" explicit and written instructions and areas of concern after the crew finally put in a full days work. Even included hard copy of digital pics so that there would be no mis-understanding. We hoped this would drive home the point that we were watching and would not accept some slap-dash job.

No luck.

Results: incomplete paint job with serious lack of prep work (cleaning, scraping, sanding, patching). NO PAINT wherever the crew throught we would not look or be unable to see (fortunately for us they were not even smart enough to look carefully themselves as unpainted areas are visible from the ground if you know where to stand). Damaged areas from ladders used without bumpers/guards; paint on eves troughs and left to dry; paint spilled on shingles and attempted to clean with (according to the lead hand of the crew)nail polish remover (it was latex paint...why not water????); paint stains from brushes left on landscape boulders to dry; damaged flat roof which resulting in a leak above the front porch and numerous minor issues like lunch garbage left on the property, failure to clean up at the end of the day, ladders left blocking the driveway etc.

Calls to 'Head Office' were worse than useless. An "Area Manager" was finally sent to review the site. He too was an independant franchisee/owner. At no time were we able to actually contact anyone more senior than wet-behind-the-ears 1st year college student. Dispite being physically shown the numerous deficiencies neither "owner" saw any cause for serious concern and could not understand why I was prepared to take them to small claims court.

Give them one more chance says the wife. We provide a list of at least a half dozen major items and some more minor items for attention before we will even REVEIW the job for POTENTIAL payment.

Lesson Four: Know when to say enough is ENOUGH!

One more chance results: "owner" calls up on a lovely sunny summer Sunday afternoon while we are enjoying the backyard with company: "I'm coming over to complete the job." Me: "Oh? When?" owner: "In an hour." Me (against my better judgement): "Ok. We have company but we'll be in the back of the yard. How many guys are coming?" owner: "Just me."

Needless to say this is going no where fast.

The "owner" shows up. No ladders. Asks to borrow my ladder. Ok.

The "owner" goes off for an hour to do a little of the work and a lot of cell phone talking and returns to ask to speak with the wife (I have made it clear I do NOT think they deserve "another chance"). Now WE must agree to full payment if x, y and z is completed and WE must sign this piece of paper (without letterhead or any other identifying information) stating such, immediately.

I respond that WE will not even discuss this today, WE have company and that if you are not willing to keep working under those conditions you should go home right now. We MAY discuss this on monday.

Needless to say the "owner" left, spewing, sputtering and swearing, never to be heard from again.

Lesson six: Small claims court is probably NOT going to be a recourse for many (most?) people. It takes a significant amount of time and energy just to file a case let alone the time and energy necessary to go to the court, present the case and have a judgement rendered. And you will have a hard time filing a case if you have not got proper mailing addresses, names, company names etc etc. You can not file a case if all you know is a cell phone number and some generic answering service phone number.

Even if you WIN, you still have to go out and collect the money. Read that again: YOU have to go out and collect the money. The court does not do it for you.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We recently became involved with Home Stars and saw your review. First, we are sorry, I certainly can understand why you are disappointed and view our service negatively with the information that you have gathered. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to do anything that we can to rectify this bad experience.
Please call our Customer Service Manager - Jeannine at 800 465 2029.

ifurand
ifurand
1 review ,

First Review

6/10

Exterior Painting

I had Student Works Painting come out and paint my exterior window frames and front wood facing. Although they used latex paint, they left behind quite a mess and not to mention some brown spots on my grass from paint that must have spilled. Its hasnt been a year yet and already i am noticing bubbles on the wood facing that they painted.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We recently became involved with Home Stars and saw your review. First, we are sorry, I certainly can understand why you are disappointed and view our service negatively. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to fix the contract and do anything that we can to rectify this bad experience. Your windows may still be covered under our three year warranty.
Please call our Customer Service Manager - Jeannine at 800 465 2029.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Student Works Painting

We have been training hard working students to paint homes across Canada since 1981. We have satisfied over 100,000 clients and aim to satisfy you!

Student Works Painting is looking forward to serve you.

We offer Condo Painting, House Painting, Commercial Painting, Interior Painting, Exterior Painting, Residential Painting, Staining, Wallpaper and Refinishing.

CATEGORIES
Paint & Wallpaper Contractors
SERVICES
We paint interior, exterior areas, decks, fences and railings. We also, do commercial projects.
BRANDS
We largely deal with Dulux Paints. Dulux is the best selling and premium brand of the largest paint company in the world.
WEBSITE
http://www.studentworks.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1981
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque
LICENSES
We have full WHMIS, Fall Arrest and safety training for all of our staff.
MEMBERSHIPS
We are members of the Better Business Bureau.
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
We have a three year warranty. The longest that we are aware of in the industry!
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.