Solocrete General Contracting Ltd

Concrete Contractors
4045 Mayfield Road Brampton ON L6Z 0A1
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Concrete Contractors
Solocrete General Contracting Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

95%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of Award '22 winner 4 timesBest of Award '22winner 4 times

Reviews for Solocrete General Contracting Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.6 10 (93 reviews)

Sort by

Harsh
Harsh
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Stamping concrete in front , back and sidewalk

I got stamp concrete done in front and back of my house by Solocrete and am very very pleased.
The work done by Solocrete was amazing and I had friends and neighbors come and compliment it.
My house looks the best in the block and I am very thrilled.
John and his crew were very professional. They were very punctual and they did an amazing job.
The jewel design made on my driveway and front porch is beautiful and neighbors have told me that it looks like a masterpiece.
A sight to look at!!!

Thank you Solocrete.
Tony Of Lila Trail ( Harsh Mehta)

Approximate cost of services:
$18,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review and the many compliments. I appreciated your trust and confidence in me throughout the project, which allowed me to create a unique design with the jewel stone. I am glad you were satisfied and I too was pleased with the end results. All the best – John

Gian Fortuna in Brampton
Gian Fortuna in Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

Decorative Concrete Patio and Driveway

I did take time to check references on Solocrete, there were good examples of there work on my street which also provided some comfort.
John, the Owner came to my home, spent time with me to work out the best arrangement and gave me a fair price. He did not provide the lowest price, but the price on a per square foot basis was the fair market rate.
Solocrete did everthing they promised, including showing up on the day the said they would and complete the work very quickly. The patio was installed in 2009, and the driveway installed earlier this year. I am very pleased with the quality of the finish and the design. I can also measure the quality of the installation by all of the flattering comments i get from friends and visitors to my home.
Great job John!

Approximate cost of services:
$30,000.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review and including a picture. We were happy to be chosen to do your projects. It was my pleasure to spend time with you and I am glad you were happy with the work. By the way, you did a wonderful job in landscaping the front. All the best – John

JL in Streetsville Glen
JL in Streetsville Glen
3 reviews Brampton, ON

First Review

9/10

Sidewalk and driveway improvements

A team of 3-4 men came to install the forms and the next day they were pouring the concrete. Several days later, someone came to do the finishing. A very professional and efficent operation. As is tyipical in this kind of trade, the installation date kept getting pushed back due to weather. Totally satisfied. Will call on them in the near future to do my backyard patio.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,200.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I appreciate the time you spent to write this review and the compliments said. Thank you for your patience and understanding with weather issues. I’m always happy to do work for you, all the best. – John

Taps
Taps
2 reviews Brampton, ON
0/10

French Curbs, Walkway, Shed slab

My neighbor recommended this company to myself. John (the owner) is extremely unprofessional and rude – to customers and his employees. I met this person later on in the project and not on the first day the project began unfortunately; otherwise I would not have gone with this company.
The French Curbs turned out great I must say though. The walkway had cracked in multiple places after a single winter season. Workers apparently did not compact gravel enough. 1 Year later he came back to repair as per warranty admitting it was an error on SoloCretes part, but he also told me to fix my water draining as he suspects that was the cause of the cracks (even though he himself (personally) put piping into the ground to allow for adequate drainage.)
He eventually broke up the concrete and refused to repair it unless I paid him extra as he needed to rebar, and come back to my neighborhood even though he had no projects at the time in the area, etc. Complete misrepresentation and fraudulent warranty.
The shed slab is a whole other story.... Supposed to measure 12 x 10... SoloCrete made it 11 x 10, even though his sales guy clearly indicated 12X10... They came back, put in rebar and essentially made a gigantic mess. One year later, the attachment/band aid fix he did is broken up and a crack across the slab/platform has taken place. No apologies for this whatsoever.
STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS CONTRACTOR. This is a family run business and his secretary is completely unprofessional and rude – has a habit of directly hanging up on people. Not worth your risk or potential aggravation dealing with this company since there are far more options out there.

--------------------------------------------
UPDATE: MAY 17 2012

With respect to Homestar's readers' time, I would like to reinstate how poor the workmanship and customer service Solocrete provides. John's response is a typical response a tradesman would provide in an ever competitive industry. There are many folks out there that provide concrete services and i would strongly encourage you to seek other vendors. I realized he has a few positive comments here and am glad to see the positive experiences; however, I would strongly be cautious.

John/Solocrete: I noticed you completely ignored the fact that you made a severe error with my shed base. Shows your credibility. Your PVC solution btw is absolutely worthless. The drainage solution you provide is a very temporary solution as it get plugged up and clogged very quickly. Let's not waste time discussing this as it's a novice solution.

You John, have NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. I had Essential Landscaping from Bolton come in and fix your mess and they echo that they are surprised with the work you performed.

I've attached pictures to my message in hopes that I can help someone out there avoid the mess you created on my property.

Homestars Readers: There are many concrete contractors/vendors out there. Please don't waste your time and dollars on this one.

--------------------------------------------

Review has 1 previous version
Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Solocrete would like to take this opportunity to adequately respond to and clarify, in full, the content of this review. Solocrete has high standards for great workmanship, quality and service that make this company one of the most reputable and successful businesses located in Southern Ontario. Contrary to the client’s statements, I have more than 30 years experience in the concrete business. As per the issues of the walkway cracks, Solocrete always stands behind our warranties provided the cracks are related to issues covered by company policy. In this particular case I notified the client that the existing flowerbed required a pipe for drainage of the downspout water flow and that this pipe is not part of the contract or paid for. As a precaution Solocrete installed, free of charge, a PVC pipe underneath the concrete into the flowerbed, leaving the remaining attachments to the downspout up to the owner. He failed to ensure that this connection was made therefore allowing the water running from the downspout to become trapped in the flowerbed. The trapped water resulted in a build-up of ice that causes lifting of the concrete and thus cracking. The company did respond to the client’s complaints, an inspection was done and it was determined that the cracks were in fact the result of water trapped and frozen in the flowerbed. It is very unfortunate that the owner ignored the company’s advice and compromised the warranty that under this circumstance is not covered under the company’s policy. The client was never able to accept the responsibility for the root cause of the cracks. Taking into consideration and respect for our clients, Solocrete in fact did start the repairing process free of charge, but the client stated that he did not want to see Solocrete back on his property and would seek someone else for the job. As a result, Solocrete did not return to the property or contact the client ever since. The client’s account of what occurred, his arguments and explanation of the cracking are inaccurate and do not make sense. - John

Brian chateaus
Brian chateaus
9 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Decorative Concrete

Looking to do our driveway next. Have to check other jobs to ensure that it will hold up to the salt without any issues. I have seen other companies with deterioration to teh concrete.

Approximate cost of services:
$40,000.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Solocrete recommends that no salt be used on stamp concrete as it causes damage to the concrete. We add an anti-slip agent to our sealer and you can use sand (instead of salt) to provide the extra traction in the winter. I hope this helps, all the best – John

Brian chateaus
Brian chateaus
9 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Decorative Concrete

Did all around the pool area and walkways up the sides of the house, on both sides. Great Job. Very Happy. They were very professional and left the place clean when they were done. Would recommend to use them.

Approximate cost of services:
$40,000.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate your recommendations and for choosing Solocrete to do your project. All the best – John

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Solocrete General Contracting Ltd

Solocrete General Contracting Ltd. believes that quality, customer service and satisfaction are very important requirements to achieve the highest reputation and trust in this business. We are constantly upgrading in order to give our customers the very best selection and quality in: stamp concrete, regular white concrete, coloured concrete, and aggregate/exposed concrete. We also offer the specialized overlay of jewel stone. Our products are ideal for driveways, walkways, curbs, gardening curbs, back patios, around pools, steps, pillars and overlays on porches. Unique to Solocrete are the french curbs and the smooth and rough finishes of bull nosing on steps.
Give your house a new look … Let Solocrete create it!

CATEGORIES
Concrete Contractors
WEBSITE
http://www.solocrete.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1998
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
0
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.