Penfolds Roofing & Solar

Formerly Penfolds Roofing Inc
Roofing
2230 Hartley Avenue Coquitlam BC V3K 6X3
Write a Review
Write a Review


InstagramFacebook
HomeStars
Roofing
Penfolds Roofing & Solar
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

95%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Penfolds Roofing & Solar

Average customer rating:
9.6 10 (482 reviews)

Sort by

Gerry in North Vancouver
Gerry in North Vancouver
1 review North Vancouver, BC
0/10

Replace cedar roof with Ziplok metal roofing

Penfolds Roofing Inc. installed a new Ziplok metal roof on our home. The result of this Penfolds roof: Unsatisfactory installation and service (leaks, rust, improper use of flashing and caulking);
Misleading advertising; and Unfulfilled written contract (did not design specifically for our home – resulting in $28000 in damages to home).
Penfolds and I negotiated via the Better Business Bureau to settle this claim but they did not follow up as they said they would. Penfolds continues to deceive customers. I have lost my trust in their sincerity, honesty, and integrity. I would never ever use them to do any work on my home again - not even for free!

I can prove/document everything I claim – and I have many other facts I can/will share with Penfolds potential customers. Why not let Penfolds customers decide who to believe? I give permission for Penfolds Roofing Inc. to release my contact information - and I will glady discribe how they treat their customers when their workmanship turns into nighmares.

This company does not remember some important facts of this roof replacement:
1) Our new roof leaked and damaged interior walls of our home during the first rainfall.  Penfolds said everything was perfect.
2)This roofing system was designed specifically our home by Penfolds and this design caused major damage to our home.
3) Penfolds quoted $4935 to install snow stops and vent savers, and then after months of negotiation they said they would supply them for our home at no cost to the customer. A normal person might think Penfolds would do what they said. But then, within their written “release”, they limited the cost of snow stops to $250. I followed up on my part of our agreement but they did not.
3) After many months of negotiations and broken promises, Penfolds said they would participate in a binding meeting. Months later, as this meeting was to start, Penfolds said they would not take part.  The BBB did not refuse to hear my complaints (as Penfolds stated), the BBB encouraged me. I believe Penfolds should not be allowed to be a BBB member.
4) Penfolds says they would like to come to a reasonable resolution. I too would like this, but it seems unlikely considering Penfolds do not do what they say they will do.  

Approximate cost of services:
$17,000.00
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We replaced this roof 2001 and everything was perfect. There was an abnormal accumulation of snow in 2009 that resulted in some fascia boards falling off which is unrelated to the roofing we did. You then wanted us to supply snow stops which we agreed to as a gesture of good faith. When we sent you a Release for your signature you did sign but you returned this with an Addendum that included another full list of demands that we could not agree to. You then went to the BBB at which time your demands had grown from $250 to about $20,000 which is why the BBB refused to hear your complaint. As a company we did everything humanly possible to satisfy you but we were not successful. We will be more than happy to meet you again to see if we are able to come to a reasonable resolution to your demands which are not even related to the roofing project we did some 10 years ago.

Regi, vancouver
Regi, vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

garage roof

They were great to deal with. They warrantied their work without any delays. They were on time, and on budget. All in all they are courteous, knowledgeable and helpful. I would highly recommend.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,500.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Alan, Burnaby
Alan, Burnaby
1 review Burnaby, BC
8/10

roof install

They put eco shakes on, which give the appearence of cedar shakes. they were on time when showing up for work. the workers were courteous and easy to deal with. overall i was happy with the service, except the price may have been a bit more then i would have liked.

Approximate cost of services:
$33,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Sherry, Vancouver
Sherry, Vancouver
2 reviews Vancouver, BC
7/10

roofed the entire house

When working with this company i expected them to be very tight and professional. i found that there was lag between the time of booking until i had to call and ask where my roofer was. I was forced to contact them to do such things as removing the sign which they placed on my lawn.

overall the work was done well, but i did have a feeling like i had to chase after them. this is not how i should operate when dealing with a large company such as Penfolds.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,700.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Darral, Deep Cove
Darral, Deep Cove
1 review North Vancouver, BC
10/10

Roof

They were very fast and efficent and completed our job on time and on budget. Overalleasy they were very easy to deal with. Always punctual, courteous and very professional. They also cleaned up every night. They also did not damage any of our plants or personal property.

Approximate cost of services:
$30,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Growler from Burnaby
Growler from Burnaby
1 review Burnaby, BC
10/10

Fibreglass shingle replacement

I had my 25 year old cedar shake replaced by Penfolds. Before choosing them, I had two quotes for a metal roof form other roofers and two other quotations from Sears and Home Depot, but, eventually chose Penfolds due primarily due to their product, installation quality, and with me observing a Penfold crew replacing a roof on one of my neighbour's house. The estimate from Penfolds was more than what Sears and HD quoted by about 10-15%.

Under the pretense of bringing the roof to 'code', I was upsold some carpentary work to deflect potential snow from my wide chimney. But in the end, the final cost to me was as they quoted.

The group of men that worked on the roof were very professional, always on time, always picked up after themselves after they left for the day. On a daily basis, we offered them soft drinks, water, and cookies which they happily drank/ate. A supervisor would always come at the end of the day to ensure that we had no issues or concerns.

We had two issues that cropped up. 1) They had not layed shingles over an extension that we had put in about 6 months before. Oversight was due to the sales person forgetting to write that down. Once I discovered the issue, within a few days, the same crew was sent out and quickly finished the job. 2) The subcontractor carpenter that was used to do the carpentry had not correctly made the 'snow guard' for our chimney. I pointed it out to the supervisor and I thought it odd that this wasn't discovered earlier. But, I did convince them that it wasn't properly constructed.

So I would highly recommend Penfolds based on their work.

As a sidenote, though I don't know if the snow guard for our chimney was needed for the 'building code', it certainly was necessary considering the one meter of snow that fell in the area last Christmas!

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Michelle, Surrey
Michelle, Surrey
1 review ,
1/10

new roof installation

One of my concerns with having a new roof installed in May was my garden. I specified this to the salesman on the first visit. He assured me that plants would be protected and cared for during the process. Not only were the plants walked on, cedar shakes were dropped from the roof onto plants and left that way overnight. Tarps full of cedar shakes with the nails sticking out were dragged from the back yard to the front scratching the brick patio and crushing more plants. When this was brought to their attention at the end of the project, they sent someone out to look at it who said he would get back to us on how it will be rectified then took our check and we never heard from him. Calls and emails were ignored. Wooden trim was poorly matched with paint color, not even close. The crew left cigarette butts strewn around the yard. Cedar shakes again with the nails sticking out were left in the flower beds. A visiting friends four year old son stepped on one of these protruding nails and had to have a tetanus shot. Luckily we have had no problem with the roof. If you have a garden that you care about, find another roofing company.

Approximate cost of services:
$18,000.00
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience we caused you. At Penfolds Roofing we always try our best to get all our crews and employees to follow our instructions but in your case we failed. Please let me know personally if there is anything I can do to "make-good" at this late stage in which case I invite you to call me directly. Ken Mayhew, President.

merzbau
merzbau
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

roof

We chose Penfolds to replace our roof because of their reputation and they actually exceeded our expectations. They were not the least expensive or the most expensive of the quotes we received. Ten years after the work was completed, the roof is still perfect.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
S Homeowner
S Homeowner
67 reviews Toronto, ON
7.8/10

Roofing

They were professional, competitive pricing, would recommend to friends and family. They answered all my questions. I had a knowledgeable staff person.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Penfolds Roofing & Solar

Penfolds Roofing & Solar has been serving the Greater Vancouver area and Fraser Valley since 1937, earning a reputation for honesty & quality craftsmanship with a wide range of superior re roofing shingles and roof shakes, such as the indestructible EcoRoof rubber shakes, including the latest technology in Solar PV. We service all types of roofs and customers, including Residential Re Roofing, Strata & Multi-Family properties, Commercial/Industrial, New Construction and we have a full service Service/Repairs department. We also provide renewable technologies as in Solar Photovoltaics (Solar Panels) while roofing, or by itself. We are a full service operation that warrantees and guarantees everything we do!

CATEGORIES
Roofing
PRODUCTS
Rubber Roofing Shakes & Slate, Cedar Shakes, Laminated Shingles, Metal Roofing and seamless flat roofing
SERVICES
Solar PV Full Installation, Roof Replacement, Gutter Installation, Chimney repairs & refurbishment, ventilation upgrades, skylights, and a whole lot more
WEBSITE
https://www.penfoldsroofing.com/?utm_source=HomeStars&utm_medium=Listing
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1937
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
150
RETURN POLICY
N/A
PAYMENT METHOD
Financing, Visa Master Card, Cheque
LICENSES
All business licenses current and up to date
MEMBERSHIPS
Shake & Shingle Association, GVHBA, LandlordBC
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Registered & Current with WCB
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
We provide a written detailed scope of work with no hidden extra charges
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
The most Extensive Warranties available in the Industry
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.