Penfolds Roofing & Solar

Formerly Penfolds Roofing Inc
Roofing
2230 Hartley Avenue Coquitlam BC V3K 6X3
Write a Review
Write a Review


InstagramFacebook
HomeStars
Roofing
Penfolds Roofing & Solar
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

95%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Penfolds Roofing & Solar

Average customer rating:
9.6 10 (479 reviews)

Sort by

Julia in Mission
Julia in Mission
0 reviews Mission, BC
10/10

Solar Panels for our Home

Great company. Minor problem at the start and they came out the same day and fixed it. Scott was our salesman and he was great. Very prompt in any question I asked. Would highly recommend the company and Scott.

Approximate cost of services:
$24,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Julia! Scott is very knowledgeable and he will be pleased to hear your feedback. Thanks for your business and enjoy your solar panels!

M&P
M&P
1 review Langley, BC
10/10

Solar Panel Installation

We had hired Penfolds to install a new roof, prior to installing our Solar Panels in August of 2022.
The customer service we received was first rate for both the roof and solar panel installations.
The only delay for the solar installation was not Penfold's fault, but from the Township of Langley Permit approval, which was extremely slow to review our application. Penfold staff were very diligent in keeping us updated.
We would highly recommend Penfolds Roofing & Solar. Scott along with Jose and their team were exceptional to deal with.
We would have no hesitation to use this company going forward.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for such a wonderful review! yes, permitting with cities can take some time, but our teams are experienced at managing every step of the process on your behalf. Communication throughout every stage of your project is key and we do our very best to ensure our customers are taken care of every step of the way.

TT in Mission
TT in Mission
1 review Mission, BC
10/10

Solar panels

I contacted Penfolds to install solar panels given the government rebate program that covers $5600 of the project for a 5.1 kW system. Penfolds staff were professional and efficient. I have been running the system for a year and noticed a large reduction in my hydro bill. The system for obvious reasons works really well in the summer and completely offsets the cost of running 4 tonne AC unit on a large house with large windows. Cost to me was $9500 after rebate. In first year I have saved hundreds on my hydro bill if not into the thousands. I expect the system to pay for itself in under 10 years meanwhile reducing my carbon footprint significantly.

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much for your review! We are so glad to hear how the solar continues performing for you and your home. The proof is in the pudding, as they say, and we love hearing from customers who verify how well solar power works in Vancouver!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews North Vancouver, BC
3/10

Promises Promises

Reading the last review brought me concerns as I'm experiencing the similar reasons for supposed delays; citing supply issues, labour shortages etc. We have had the best rain free weather in the last 15 years so poor weather can't be the reason for delays. My various neighbours who contracted their work after me have had their roofs completed whilst I wait for the snow months. My confidence level at this point is low. Had I not made a substantial deposit I would cancel the contract. My suggestion to others is to insure a completion date is written into the contract and that the deposit is fully refundable if the work is not started by a certain specified date.

Approximate cost of services:
$70,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We thank you for your patience in completing your reroofing project. 2022 has presented many different challenges, primarily due to weather. Like other roofing companies and outdoor trades, jobs planned for the Spring couldn't be completed due to the massive amounts of rain from Nov 2021 to June 2022. We had a large number of jobs to tackle as soon as the weather turned around and we are thankfully nearly caught up from these delays - but not without frustration for customers, like yourself. We apologize for the impact of these delays on completing your project. Our teams have been tirelessly working away and I hope we can have your project completed very soon.

Please contact me at marketing@penfoldsroofing.com so I can further look into your specific project. Thanks for your patience and your faith in our teams.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews , BC
2/10

Terrible customer service; still waiting for my roof

Very unimpressed and would not recommend. I would speak to the quality of the roof but they still havent even started the project even though I initially contacting them to do the job a year ago. (I will update the review when the work actually gets done.) It took a lot of persistence on my behalf to actually get a quote and confirm the contract. Their quote appeared professional which is why I chose them. They told me they couldnt give an exact time on the job being completed but implied it would be done this summer. I have never been contacted by them since I signed the contract and every time I inquire, the time estimate is pushed back by months. Currently they estimate to start my roofing project in late October/early November (but Im not holding me breath), so my house will be opened and exposed during some of our rainiest weather seasons. They said they will tarp my roof if I get a leak in the mean time but the whole point in getting the roof re-done is to precent any house damage in the first place.

Approximate cost of services:
$21,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We thank you for your patience in completing your reroofing project. We hear your frustration due to the delays you have experienced and please know our teams have been persevering to get to your job as promptly as we can.

From Oct 2021 until June 2022 we faced an unprecedented rainy season, which prevented our teams from safely working on roofs, and this was the primary cause of delays we faced. The poor weather impacted many, many roofers and outdoor tradesmen. Many jobs planned for February or March were delayed well into June, and this created a snowball effect.

We had a few unforeseen circumstances that affected our crew designated for your project. Our crews have been working non-stop to ensure we complete these scheduled jobs before the rainy season sets in. We apologize for the communication delay you experienced. We identified an error during an internal transition that affected a few customers and have addressed this issue. We are glad knowing your project will be completed as soon as physically possible. Thanks for your patience and your faith in our teams.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Surrey, BC
6/10

Warranty 101

Warranty 101
1. Make sure you have found the Workmanship Warranty Term (in years), in your contact for your new roof.
2. Make sure you have found the Roof Warranty Term (in years), in your contact for your new roof.

A packaged Life Time Warranty is a nice marketing term; but, whos life mine, yours or the day the roof leaks?

If the company offers a final inspection of the roof, demand a written report that shows that no visible workmanship issues exist.
If they do not offer a final inspection of the roof, add it to your contract and initial the entry.
If they resist, what does that tell you?

Without the written report, you are left out in cold even with the proof on the roof of visible workmanship issues.

Hindsight is 20/20. I didnt and I am now out over $4,000.

My issue is outside BBBs scope to help. I appreciate that they tried.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Nancy
Nancy
1 review North Vancouver, BC
10/10

Roof Warranty and Customer Care

We really value and appreciate Penfold’s customer care service and the excellent personalized attention to our recent roof problem from Tumi and Jason. We had a new roof installed in 2019 and Penfold’s is always there for us !

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much for your review, Nancy. Tumi and Jason do an excellent job of tending to our customers and I know they will be extremely pleased to hear your kind words. We are really glad to have been able to resolve your issue. Thanks for your patience while our team evaluated the situation with your vent cap to ensure it was located and properly installed. Many thanks!

Megan Ellis in Vancouver
Megan Ellis in Vancouver
2 reviews Vancouver, BC
10/10

Excellent job

Penfolds proposed an approach using a new product which would save our small strata a lot of money. They were polite and pleasant to deal with. Their communication was very good. They kept us informed and did what they said they would do when they said they would do it. They were timely well-organized and tidy.

Approximate cost of services:
$40,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much for you're review, Megan. We were very happy to provide your strata a solution for your roofing situation that allowed you to conserve your budget for other important projects. Our teams work very hard to stay on time and on budget, while keeping the workspace safe for all residents and we're pleased to hear our diligence met and exceeded all your expectations.

Gil
Gil
1 review Delta, BC
10/10

Roof Replacement (ECO Rubber)

We recently had our roof replaced by Penfolds Roofing and are very happy with the results. The service and feedback we received from Adam & Thomas(Corridor Managers) to the crew that came on site, more than exceeded our expectations. They gave us a very well detailed break-down of the project costs, kept us posted on the scheduling and progress of the work and were always quick to respond to any questions or concerns we had regarding the project. The on-site crew were very friendly and worked diligently. They made sure the property was clean and tidy before they left each day. The quality of their products and workmanship speaks for itself. We absolutely love our new roof and would recommend their services to anyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$33,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wonderful! Thank you for such a comprehensive review, Gil. We're so happy that everything we do to provide high quality service and high quality products delivered on your experience. Our whole team, including Adam and Thomas, are professionals that deliver these experiences every day and we'll pass this 'pat on the back' to them. We hope you enjoy the EcoRoof for decades to come!

mmyers
mmyers
0 reviews Abbotsford, BC
10/10

Happy with our new roof

Our house backs onto a forest, so through the year there is a lot of leaf litter falling on the roof, and a lot of moss had grown on our roof as well. Our roof was starting to show signs of wear and tear, and we sought estimates from several companies before settling on Penfolds. From the initial estimate through to the finished job, we were pleased with the efficiency and thoroughness provided by Penfolds. Our new roof looks great and we are so happy knowing that we are ready for another wet fall and winter.

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how happy you are with the completed project, as well as the rest of the process from start to finish. We have many incredible team members, and their collaboration allows us to consistently deliver superior service.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Penfolds Roofing & Solar

Penfolds Roofing & Solar has been serving the Greater Vancouver area and Fraser Valley since 1937, earning a reputation for honesty & quality craftsmanship with a wide range of superior re roofing shingles and roof shakes, such as the indestructible EcoRoof rubber shakes, including the latest technology in Solar PV. We service all types of roofs and customers, including Residential Re Roofing, Strata & Multi-Family properties, Commercial/Industrial, New Construction and we have a full service Service/Repairs department. We also provide renewable technologies as in Solar Photovoltaics (Solar Panels) while roofing, or by itself. We are a full service operation that warrantees and guarantees everything we do!

CATEGORIES
Roofing
PRODUCTS
Rubber Roofing Shakes & Slate, Cedar Shakes, Laminated Shingles, Metal Roofing and seamless flat roofing
SERVICES
Solar PV Full Installation, Roof Replacement, Gutter Installation, Chimney repairs & refurbishment, ventilation upgrades, skylights, and a whole lot more
WEBSITE
https://www.penfoldsroofing.com/?utm_source=HomeStars&utm_medium=Listing
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1937
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
150
RETURN POLICY
N/A
PAYMENT METHOD
Financing, Visa Master Card, Cheque
LICENSES
All business licenses current and up to date
MEMBERSHIPS
Shake & Shingle Association, GVHBA, LandlordBC
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Registered & Current with WCB
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
We provide a written detailed scope of work with no hidden extra charges
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
The most Extensive Warranties available in the Industry
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.