Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Weed Control
7123 Fir Tree Dr Mississauga ON L5S 1G4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Weed Control
Hometurf Lawn Care Service
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 5 timesBest of 2020winner 5 times

Reviews for Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Average customer rating:
9 10 (2249 reviews)

Sort by

Mel in Etobicoke
Mel in Etobicoke
1 review ETOBICOKE, ON
10/10

Great People, Great Service

We have had Hometurf for probably about 6 years now. They have always done a great job and treated us well. Last year they ended up damaging a statue of my neighbors when doing our grass, I didnt really care at the time because I hated the statue so I didnt bother to call them. The best part was that they called me two days later apologizing and asking if they could replace the statue. Again, it was my neighbors so I didnt really care but they replaced the statue anyway. I was very impressed with their honesty and appriciate that alot. I am still a happy customer and they have already come this year to do my fertiser. Very happy with them.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mel, Thank you for your review. We always love to hear from our long term customers and are happy that we were able to resolve the issue with your neighbours statue. As you know, if you ever have any questions our customer service staff is here to help.

Mark in Scarborough
Mark in Scarborough
1 review Scarborough, ON
9/10

lawn fertilizer and aerators

Had this company do our lawn last summer and was pretty impressed with them. Never had a company in to do the lawn before so wasn't sure what to expect, but turned out really nice we're going to use them again this year. Got a deal when I signed up in the spring, so I got their top of the line package with the aeratoring and seeding. They came did the fertilizer all summer and weed killer a couple of times which helped definitely help get rid of the danilions. My wife and I both noticed an improvement in the grass by the end of the summer and it was nice not have to spend weekends pulling weeds. Good value, seems like a lot of service for the money. Overall, very happy with service.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mark, Thank you for the review, we are glad that you saw the value in having a professional lawn care service and hope that you can be a long term customer.

M.A in Brampton
M.A in Brampton
1 review BRAMPTON, ON
9/10

Yearly Lawn

Hometurf has been taking care of our lawn for almost ten years now. I have never had a problem with them. They do a good job every year and generally follow the same time line so I know what to expect. I have recommended them to several of my friends who have also enjoyed having their services over the years.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi M.A, It is always great to hear from someone who has enjoyed our service for so long, thank you very much for your patronage over the years.

J DP in Scarborough
J DP in Scarborough
6 reviews Scarborough, ON
1/10

So-called "Complete" Lawn Care Program

Deceitful Marketing -

They send out flyers promoting an "Early Bird" special price. Then they offer a significantly lower price to those who contract them later, i.e. the "Early Bird" special is actually a higher priced option! That alone should be reported to the BBB.

Poor and Incomplete Service -

The work is done at blazing speed and this means they miss many areas - a little extra care would go a long way in ensuring full coverage.

The natural weed control barely works and of course, it's not applied to all the weeds so the overall result is practically useless.

Forget about them eradicating your driveway and patio weeds - only a few get sprayed and it just discolors them slightly (similar to the main weed treatment)!

They have fallen considerably behind schedule due to change in weed control agent I was told. This means they are missing the optimal application timing by applying the last 4 treatments in 6 weeks whereas they would normally be effective over twice as long.

Last but not least, my lawn has never looked so bad. Of course weather has a lot to do with it and this is only the first year I contracted Hometurf, but I bet I would have had as nice a lawn (this year and next) had I done or contracted only minimal fertilizing and aerating.

My advice: don't bother with them - go elsewhere or save your money!

I gave a one rating because they do however provide good customer service when you call them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi J DP, I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the services that were provided to your home. I am not sure what you are referring to in regards to the Early Bird Special as this offer always has been and always will be the lowest price and best special that we provide. In regards to the weed control, I apologize for the delay, however due to the pesticide by-law in 2009 the ministry was slow at approving the new product but we caught up in our service schedule very quickly to make up for the initial delay. The weed control product, that we use both on the lawn and on the patio/driveways are both very effective, if customers ever notice weeds not dying we always encourage you to let us know so that we can get them taken care of for you. Unfortunately, I am not sure of the exact details in regards to your account but we would love to have you as a customer again. If there is anything that we can do to rectify the situation please contact us.

C.A. Brampton
C.A. Brampton
4 reviews Brampton, ON
0/10

Lawn Maintenance

They were so delayed in applying the weed killer. It wasn't until June. When I called them earlier in the spring, it was because they had to wait for the right weather with the sarritor. Then they said they were changing which product they were using. They told me once was enough, but I have giant weeds and dealing with them has been stressful and infuriating.
When I asked early in the year for a refund. I was told I couldn't, but could transer it to another year, or to another home owner. Why would I want to pass on this kind of torture to someone else??? Very poor customer service.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi C.A, I apologize for the confusion in regards to the weed control in 2010. After the pesticide ban in 2009 our industry as a whole had to look for alternative products to use in order to control the weeds. We chose not to use Sarritor because after testing it we found that it was not overly effective and we strive to give the best service possible to our customers. Unfortunately, the ministry approval process for our new weed control was behind schedule but that problem no longer exists. I apologize for the issues you had but assure you that our weed control works very well. We would love to have you try our service again to see it's results.

eaudesnob in Pickering
eaudesnob in Pickering
24 reviews Pickering, ON
0/10

complete lawn care

Very soon after leaving the other lawncare company (see my review of that also on Homestars) I received an attractive offer to go with Hometurf Lawn Care. I did not know at that time it was no coincidence.

You see what I did not know at that time is the owner of record of the first company is L. Van H*******t. And when very shortly I reported Hometurf to the BBB ( case ID 1147017) I learned that the owner of record of Hometurf is D. Van H********t (what an AMAZING coincidence!)

They also operate in a very similar manner. For example they encourage you to prepay for the year by large discounts. But their are NO REFUNDS WHATSOEVER for any reason including not fulfilling their service agreement. They advertise 6 visits the first one in April. After you have paid in full on April 17th this first visit changes to a prediction of May 22.

This of course allows the high school students ( they call technicians ) to finish their school year and take the one half day training course on how to get in and out of each property in less than 10 minutes and how to mix the chemicals one teaspoon to a thousand gallons or so for your lawn (which you are paying 50 to 70 dollars for per 10 minute visit.)

I recommend you avoid both these companies (at least technically they are two companies but are they?) and do your own lawn. It will save you money and my lawn looks better now than it ever did with either of them.

I first wrote this review in June 2010 but in March 2012 Homestars tightened up their criteria and I had to redit and resubmit. I have now been maintaining my own lawn for over 5 years and I still maintain it is both better maintained and at much less cost than using any lawncare service - in comparison to most of my neighbours lawns which I see every year,

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Eaudesnob, I am sorry that you were not happy with the service that you received. I will say however that we are in NO way whatsoever affiliated with any other lawn care companies nor are we owned by the same people that own another lawn care company. We have been independently owned and operated since 1988. Secondly, we DO NOT employ high school students, nor have we ever employed high school students. Also, high school students are not out of school until June/July so it is impossible for us to hire high school students in May when you received your application shortly after signing up for the program. All of our technicians also receive thorough training as well as licensing from the Ministry of the Environment. There is no half day training course that you speak of. Our applications are all applied at the appropriate label rate for optimal effectiveness, safety and environmental care. I am sorry that you were not happy with the service and wish you all the best at taking care of the lawn yourself.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hometurf Lawn Care Service

At Hometurf Lawn Care, we have been treating the lawns of our loyal customers for over 30 years. As a family-owned and -operated business, we have grown by delivering lush, healthy, green lawns while using only the highest quality products applied by professional lawn care technicians. Let us help you make your lawn look its best this season!

Our season-long lawn care programs take the guess work out of which products to use and when. Applications are scheduled to be applied four to six weeks apart throughout the season for optimal turf care. We strive to ensure everything your lawn needs is included in our programs. No telemarketing or sales calls pushing unnecessary extras.

Our services include: lawn care programs, lawn maintenance programs, fertilizer, weed control, insect control, aeration, grass seeding, dethatching, top dressing, chinch bug control and grub control.

CATEGORIES
Weed Control and Lawn Maintenance
PRODUCTS
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
SERVICES
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
WEBSITE
http://www.hometurf.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1988
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
50
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Visa, MasterCard, Online Banking
LICENSES
Ministry of Ontario Landscape Exterminator, Ministry of Ontario Pesticide Operator License
MEMBERSHIPS
Landscape Ontario, Professional Lawn Care Association of Ontario, CNLA, OIPMA, PLANET, PLCAA
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No project too small
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
Varies based on property size.
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.