Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Weed Control
7123 Fir Tree Dr Mississauga ON L5S 1G4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Weed Control
Hometurf Lawn Care Service
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 5 timesBest of 2020winner 5 times

Reviews for Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Average customer rating:
9 10 (2265 reviews)

Sort by

Alan Thomson in Oakville
Alan Thomson in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

Lawn Services - 'complete program'

We had a hard time getting these guys to come early enough last year for the application to be effective so we requested a full refund in early June. They refused our request for a refund of any sort. I mentioned escalating matters to the Better Business Bureau but that did noot faze them, rather they came in the next week for one visit to perform: aeration; overseeding; organic weed control; spring fertilizer; patio control (all on June 20). I tried reasonign with them but got th sense they were good at this kind of thing so decided not to pursue. They came by one more time, on August 2 for Summer fertilizer; organic weed control and IPM surface insect control. They never did come by for the final application, it was supposd to be Fall Fertilizer and organic weed control.
Fast forward to 2012... I came home from work today and, to my surprise, saw an invoice for my 2012 program. They decided to apply my 'early spring fertilizer' on March 21. I just sent them a note from their website confirming that we had cancelled the program last year and have no intention of paying this year. This time they do not have my money so we will see how it goes.
LESSON LEARNED - their prices are great but... you get what you pay for.
Good luck to all.
Alan

****In Response To Company's Response***
It was nice to see the company respond so quickly to my message, however their records are mistaken. I still have the original receipts showing dates of the two services. The only time they called in advance of application was in the spring of 2011 to advise they were coming next day for aeration, at which time we marked the sprinklers as required. The markers remained on our lawn for over a month while I called them requesting they come to perform the aeration/overseeding and early spring fertilizer. Their customer service person advised me they could not come for the aeration as they have a very large area and their machines were elsewhere in the GTA. One week after I removed the markers (it is time consuming to mow the lawn around the markers) they came by, unannounced, to do aeration.
I did not call their supervisor back after the June 20 application because I had already wasted many hours on the phone with others at Hometurf and all I wanted was a full refund PRIOR to any service being performed. I knew it was a lost cause once they performed that first service on June 20th so just cut my losses.
All I can say is Buyer Beware!!
Alan

note: they did not call prior to their first service this year. They do not have my money for 2012 Season nor will they get anything out of me this time around!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mr. Thomson, I reviewed your account and have noticed some discrepancies. Here is the information that we have on file, we were out to the home May 27th to do the aeration and seeding treatment however the sprinkler heads were not marked so we left a note stating that we would return once they were marked. We did, like we always do, give you a call the day before so that the heads could be marked for us. The aeration and seeding treatment was then completed on June 16th NOT June 20th. The Late Spring Fertilizer/Weed Control was completed on June 20th. The summer application was completed on August 2nd then you received the Fall fertilizer and weed control September 16th and the Late Fall Fertilizer October 19th. All the services that you paid for were completed and furthermore a supervisor called and left a message with you on June 16th to resolve any issues that you were having but the message was never returned. We never heard anything from you past June, I would think that if you were not receiving your applications in the fall you would have called to let us know so that we could get them done for you. I am sorry that you were not happy with our service and wish you the best of luck.

Gordon Faulkner in Mississauga
Gordon Faulkner in Mississauga
1 review MISSISSAUGA, ON
10/10

Lawn Care Maintenance

I have been using Hometurf Lawn Care for many years and I have always found their service to be reliable & honest. The quality of lawn care has always been top notch & the pricing very competitive. I would highly recommend Hometurf to anyone who needs a lawn care service.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Gord,thank you for your review. If you need anything throughout the year please give us a call at the office, we are always happy to help.

Tim in Milton
Tim in Milton
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

Lawn care - fertilization, weed-control, over-seeding

I started with Hometurf last year and have been very impressed with the service I've received, as well as the results for my lawn! Despite last summer's dry weather and minimal rainfall, my lawn stayed thick and green with very little watering required. I'm very particular when it comes to looking after my lawn and I can tell that Hometurf and its employees are just as passionate. The over-seeding applications have virtually eliminated any weeds I previously had by crowding them out with fresh, new blades of grass. Several of my neighbours have commented on how nice my lawn looks and I have recommended Hometurf to all of them, without hesitation. I'm looking forward to the start of another season with Hometurf!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Tim, thanks for your review, I love the pictures, if you need us throughout the season please give us a call. Take care.

Stephen in Mississauga
Stephen in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
9/10

lawn care

I ordered a package with this company last year. I was happy with the service overall. The price was fair and they did everything they said they would. I looked around a bit this year like I always do but was not happy with some of the other responses I got, I will be using them again this year.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Stephen, Thank you for your review. We always appreciate hearing from our customers. We are glad that you are using the service again this year and hope that you will be one of our long term customers. If you ever have any questions about the service do not hesitate to call our office.

Angelo in North york
Angelo in North york
2 reviews NORTH YORK, ON
10/10

Summer Lawn Service

We have used them for three summers and have just renewed for a fourth. We get the full service package with everything except cutting which I still do myself. The gentleman is very polite and does a nice job killing the weeds and fertilizing the grass. Thank you.

Angelo

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Angelo, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed the service over the last few years.

Shari Patel in Orangeville
Shari Patel in Orangeville
1 review Orangeville, ON
10/10

lawncare

me and my husband ordered with hometurf last year for the first tijme. We were very happy with there services. The grass was much greener and had far less weeds at the end of the season. I would recommend

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Shari, Thank you for your review, if you ever have any questions do not hesitate to contact our office.

Jeff in Toronto
Jeff in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

Lawncare Service

A few years ago, I began using Hometurf Lawncare for my home's lawn. I've been very happy with their staff, service and my lawn's appearance. I would definitely recommend their services.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jeff, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed the service over the last few years. Thank you for recommending our service to others.

Kim Liska in Guelph
Kim Liska in Guelph
3 reviews Guelph, ON

First Review

8/10

Lawn care for the summer 2011

I had Hometurf Lawn Care take care of my lawn and backyard thsi summer and I was very happy with the results. They aerated, fertilized and performed weed treatments over the summer months. At the end of the summer, my lawn had a lot less weeds and was green and lush. I would recommend Hometurf Lawn Care.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kim, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed using the service this year and hope that you will be a customer again in the future.

Jim Ganni in Mississauga
Jim Ganni in Mississauga
1 review MISSISSAUGA, ON
10/10

Fertilizer and Weed Program

This year was the first time we used Home Turf and we were very happy with the work that they did. We are retired so were usually home when they did the visits. The workers always did a good job and a couple of times when I had questions and ran out to talk with them they were very nice to me and informative. They were successful in killing our weeds and after a dry summer our lawn is now a nice green. it was nice to see our lawn come back from the summer so well. Our neighbors have alrady signed up with them for next year. From my experience they were very good at doing what they said they would we are very happy and will be using them next year for sure.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jim, Thank you for your review. We are happy that your lawn recovered well from the hot, dry summer of 2011. Thank you for recommending us to your neighbours.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hometurf Lawn Care Service

At Hometurf Lawn Care, we have been treating the lawns of our loyal customers for over 30 years. As a family-owned and -operated business, we have grown by delivering lush, healthy, green lawns while using only the highest quality products applied by professional lawn care technicians. Let us help you make your lawn look its best this season!

Our season-long lawn care programs take the guess work out of which products to use and when. Applications are scheduled to be applied four to six weeks apart throughout the season for optimal turf care. We strive to ensure everything your lawn needs is included in our programs. No telemarketing or sales calls pushing unnecessary extras.

Our services include: lawn care programs, lawn maintenance programs, fertilizer, weed control, insect control, aeration, grass seeding, dethatching, top dressing, chinch bug control and grub control.

CATEGORIES
Weed Control and Lawn Maintenance
PRODUCTS
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
SERVICES
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
WEBSITE
http://www.hometurf.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1988
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
50
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Visa, MasterCard, Online Banking
LICENSES
Ministry of Ontario Landscape Exterminator, Ministry of Ontario Pesticide Operator License
MEMBERSHIPS
Landscape Ontario, Professional Lawn Care Association of Ontario, CNLA, OIPMA, PLANET, PLCAA
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No project too small
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
Varies based on property size.
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.