Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Weed Control
7123 Fir Tree Dr Mississauga ON L5S 1G4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Weed Control
Hometurf Lawn Care Service
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2020 winner 5 timesBest of 2020winner 5 times

Reviews for Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Average customer rating:
9 10 (2774 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Lawn Care

I used Hometurf for fertilizing, pest control, and weed control. It was quick to order and no hassle for the applications. Seems to have reduced the number of weeds on the lawn

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Hometurf. Your insight into your experience with our company helps us to grow and improve our business. We always welcome feedback from clients, so feel free to contact us if you have any suggestions or concerns.

Nik in Kitchener
Nik in Kitchener
0 reviews Kitchener, ON
0/10

Lawn Care?

I used Hometurf Lawn Care for the first time in the summer 2021 season. I had received a flyer in the mail which advertised "the complete program". So I decided the special price of $299.96 was a good deal. Until they started performing the services. The technician shows up and is gone before you blink. The complete packaged advertised a "core aeration" and "IPM Surface Insect Control" both of which I did not receive this season, the first due to covid (they could not use the machine because it took multiple people) and the second service (grub control) they said I had no grubs. So it was an "optional service". However I did not have the option to opt out of paying for it. I bought the complete program and none of the services should have been skipped. In fact, I know I have plenty of grubs in the yard and that is why I decided to take action with a lawn company this year. Today was the last straw, after a technician dropped off the completed form saying he had sprayed the weed control for the last time, I pressed a little further and said yes but it's pouring rain and then he admitted that he actually didn't do it at all and I can reschedule if I want. So had I been away from the house I would have just assumed it was completed as per the print out he put in the mail box. There are other problems with this company but I will stop there. When called the head office just plays dumb. Don't waste your money. Never again with Hometurf. Or probably any lawn care company for that matter.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are extremely sorry for your less than satisfactory experience with Hometurf, Nik. This behaviour from our technicians and customer care is unacceptable and we hope you accept our sincerest apologies. Please send a note to feedback@hometurf.ca with your customer number and a brief description of your experience and our web coordinator will direct the message to our team for review. We value our customers' opinions and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Hometurf

I used this company for the first time and have been very happy with the service. They always came on time and left me a note to tell me if anything needs done

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we appreciate your business and that you took the time to share your experience with the community!

pdvc
pdvc
0 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Lawn Treatment

Lawn looks better than it has in years. Neighbours are complimenting us on the look of our lawn Weeds are less prevalent. I had an issue after the last fertilization but a company rep promptly came out to view the issue and then worked for an extended period of time to address the issue (fertilizer burn due to malfunctioning equipment). Lawn is well on its way to being restored in spots affected.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed the service you received from Hometurf! It makes us very happy to hear about the positive impact we have on our clients’ lawns.

Barbra in North york
Barbra in North york
9 reviews North York, ON

First Review

0/10

Lawn service

My lawn looks worse than the start of the season although my sod was newly installed 2 years ago. My front lawn is either dead or full of weeds. There service is not worth anything. They won’t call the day before the service and during the summer I gad close to 7 weeks when they did not treat the lawn . In fact, I am still waiting for late summer fertilizer although it is now oct 4. Do not recommend and in fact, I would like a refund. I have cancelled my ‘continuous service’ with them.
Update
The response provided by the company is erroneous. The number to call us the main line and no refund or satisfaction was provided. The 5th service for late summer fertilizer was supposed to done on sept. 30th. As of today, still not done. Do not recommend this company at all!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’re so sorry that your experience did not match your expectations Barbra. Please help us to improve by providing more information on your experience. We invite you to give us a call at 1-888-791-8873 to discuss your experience further and come up with a solution!

M Kelly in Guelph
M Kelly in Guelph
2 reviews Guelph, ON
10/10

Lawn Care

We had a major chinch bug infestation in our lawn. Ryan came and treated our lawn. We appreciated his persistence and his open communication. He also took the time to advise us as well. Our lawn is beautiful and again and it is all due to Ryan's hard work and care and concern.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services our team provided you! We understand the difficulties in achieving a healthy green lawn, and we’re very happy to assist you. Thank you again for sharing such a positive experience. It means the world to us!

Barb from Calgary
Barb from Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Lawn care

I’ve used Home Turf for the past 5 years and am very pleased with the results to my lawn. I get many positive comments about how green my lawn is and how thick it is. The boy next cuts my lawn and is always telling his grandfather how much thicker my lawn is than theirs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful review Barb and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our priority is customer service, and we are ecstatic that we met that mark! Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

Trev and Sher in Calgary
Trev and Sher in Calgary
3 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Best lawn in the neighbourhood

We have had Home Turf as our lawn maintenance company for many years now, and look forward to many continued years ahead. Our lawn is healthy, weed free, lush and green ... and the best looking on the block!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the service you received from Hometurf, Trev and Sher! Hearing the positive impact we have on our clients makes us very happy. We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again!

Thomas DM
Thomas DM
3 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

My lawn was in rough shape!

I have a large corner lot and this property was not maintained well by the previous owner. So far through about 3/4 of the season I've noticed significant improvements and reduction in weeds. Definitely a bonus that it's not dangerous for pets as I have two dogs that love their lawn.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Thomas, we appreciate your business and that you took the time to share your experience with the community!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Lawn Care

Hometurf Lawn Care service has given me a much greener, weed free lawn over the past 4 years. Their service is consistent and on time. They respond to my concerns or questions in a timely manner and have been open to negotiating different services each year that meet my individual needs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed the service you received from Hometurf! It makes us very happy to hear about the positive impact we have on our clients’ lawns.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hometurf Lawn Care Service

At Hometurf Lawn Care, we have been treating the lawns of our loyal customers for over 30 years. As a family-owned and -operated business, we have grown by delivering lush, healthy, green lawns while using only the highest quality products applied by professional lawn care technicians. Let us help you make your lawn look its best this season!

Our season-long lawn care programs take the guess work out of which products to use and when. Applications are scheduled to be applied four to six weeks apart throughout the season for optimal turf care. We strive to ensure everything your lawn needs is included in our programs. No telemarketing or sales calls pushing unnecessary extras.

Our services include: lawn care programs, lawn maintenance programs, fertilizer, weed control, insect control, aeration, grass seeding, dethatching, top dressing, chinch bug control and grub control.

CATEGORIES
Weed Control and Lawn Maintenance
PRODUCTS
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
SERVICES
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
WEBSITE
http://www.hometurf.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1988
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
50
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Visa, MasterCard, Online Banking
LICENSES
Ministry of Ontario Landscape Exterminator, Ministry of Ontario Pesticide Operator License
MEMBERSHIPS
Landscape Ontario, Professional Lawn Care Association of Ontario, CNLA, OIPMA, PLANET, PLCAA
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No project too small
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
Varies based on property size.
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.