Gasfix Repair

601 Burlington Street East Hamilton ON L8L 4J5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Gasfix Repair
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2020 winner 7 timesBest of 2020winner 7 times

Reviews for Gasfix Repair

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (284 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON

Reliable and honest

Have a fireplace that has issues with electronics affecting the lights and the satrting form time to time. Scott has the patience to take the thing apart and find the answers.

Was this review helpful?
Dolphins in Hamilton
Dolphins in Hamilton
2 reviews Hamilton, ON

Napoleon Gas Fireplace

Excellent, fast, clean and efficient! Dwayne Hamilton has serviced all my gas products in the past 2 years, and he continues to impress us! Keep up the great work Dwayne and Gasfix!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON

Gas fireplace repair

Awesome company. Friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. Dwayne remembered being here 10 yrs ago for a repair. Nice to retain employees for that long. Company must be doing something right.
It was same day service! Definitely recommend. No mess.

Was this review helpful?
Peter in Toronto
Peter in Toronto
0 reviews Hamilton, ON

Service and repair to my gas fireplace

Please think twice before hiring this company.
It pains me to have to right this review as I gave Gas Fix the opportunity to make a wrong right but they chose not to.
I contacted gas fix to come and diagnose a problem with my Town and Country fireplace back in October of 2019. The fireplace had been working but the flame control would not go from low to high. You could hear the valve opening as there is a slight noise when doing so but the flame height would not increase. I called Gas fix as they had serviced my fireplace in the past.

This time their service tech came and I told him what was happening and he took the remote and played with it. At this point he said that it was the gas valve that was not working and I would most likely need a new valve. He then removed the glass. He took out the logs looked around and removed the cover where the valve was. I was in the room watching and trying to learn a little about what he was doing. He said that it was not a difficult job but the valve was in an awkward place to get in and replace. I do not recall seeing him use any test equipment to determine that the gas valve was at fault but he did write on the invoice measurements that he supposedly took and said that the valve needed replacement. I said that they could go forward with the repair and he said that the office will contact me with a price and when they could come and replace the valve. This visit I was charged 285.89 including the tax.

I was contacted by the office with a price of 987 before tax for the repair and also confirmed that the safety check and cleaning where included in that price as a cleaning was not done on the first visit and booked a date of October 30 for the repair.

The service tech came back on the 30th and installed a new valve and I looked at the old valve and took a picture of it along with info printed on it for future reference. I was not there the while time while he did the job as I did not think I had to be and was also busy myself. I was not so sure he did the cleaning as what was originally requested and confirmed that it would be performed on this visit. He did not have his
vacuum or compressor with him (at least he did not bring them into the house) I did not see any cleaning take place 0n the inside of the fireplace with the exception that I saw service tech clean the glass. and walls looked wiped down.

After finishing the job Dwayne (service techs name) called me and showed me that the flame height control was functioning. To my Surprise I saw very little improvement in the flame height. Even the flame colour was not what it was normally like when the fireplace was installed and had worked well up until this problem. I told Dwayne that this was not satisfactory as it was no where near what original flame height was. He stated that the valve is working fine and that it was about a 30% ramp up in flame height which was within the manufacturers specs. He also stated that before he did the installation I did not have Ambers over the gas ports and he had put new ambers in and properly covered the gas ports so that would make the flame height lower. He said to give it a few days for the ambers to burn in and I should see a difference in the flame height. I expressed my disappointment and concern and told Dwayne that If I did not see an improvement after a few days I would like him to come back and look further into the situation.
At this point i did as instructed, let the Ambers burn in. (as a note the fireplace usually running at full, heats up the main floor of the house and makes the room that the fireplace is in, very hot. It was a main source of heat when we had the record breaking temps in January a few years back. at that time the furnace in the house broke down and we had to wait a number of days for parts.)
Running it this time at full barely made a difference to the temperature in the fireplace room

After almost three days of non stop running the fireplace at full position I contacted Gas fix to schedule a return visit. A return visit was booked for Tues the 5th. On the evening of the 4th I received a call from Scott the owner of Gas fix. He called and informed me that no one will be coming on the 5th as the new gas valve that was installed was working fine. To say the least I was shocked and more then a little perturbed. He was quite rude during our entire conversation, which did get a little heated! I explained to Scott the situation and that I have waited much more then two days to see a change in flame height and that nothing has changed. He again said that the valve is working fine and that no one would be coming out. I asked him why he did not believe me and if he thought I was not being truthful and how could he determine it was not working properly when he has not even seen it. I said that this was completely unacceptable and I wanted him to come out and see it. I said that I would escalate things further and would leave a negative review. I was very upset! Scott did finally agree very rudely to come and see the fireplace the next day.
On the morning of the 5th I got a call from Scott to say he was on the way and to make sure the fireplace was turned off for when he got there. I turned off the fireplace and waited for Scott to arrive. When he arrived he came in and removed the glass and logs and brought in his vacuum and cleaned inside the fireplace and also removed the burner assembly and took off the main gas nozzle. That is when he showed me the inside of the gas nozzle and said that this was most likely the problem. There was a spiders web inside the nozzle. I was surprised and asked why this was not checked when Dwayne was here to do the service and cleaning and he said that this was not part of a service and cleaning. Scott reassembled everything and then ignited the fireplace. Wow, instant proper flame height and color just like it was when it was installed. Scott cleaned up and he did apologise for the heated conversation from the day before and said that there was not a charge for his visit.

After he left I was still disappointed,feeling that I most likely paid for a gas valve when I did not need one. I did a lot of reading regarding what is and should be serviced when an inspection and service is done on a fireplace. I also contacted town and country support and they feel that this should have been checked before hand. I contacted other company's and explained my initial problem asked them if when they did their inspection to determine the problem would they have checked the main gas nozzle they all said that that was part of a normal inspection and cleaning. At this point I decided to ask Scott if he would at least reimburse me for the price of the gas valve. (see reasons below) I realized that work was performed and time was spent and he had to pay his employees and all I was asking for was the cost of the valve, no extra labour costs. That request was sent via txt on the afternoon of the 5th and after a number of follow up texts and emails I finally got a reply from Scott on the 18th of November. I was denied reimbursement for the gas valve. I requested on that date the old valve back and Scott got back to me on the 20th saying I could pick it up in Hamilton on the 22 at 4:00 Unfortunately I was unable to pick up the valve on two occasions and notified Gas fix both times that I would not be able to make it. I had come out of retirement and was working in Pickering at the time. I contacted Scott again to try and reschedule a pickup and also asked if he could just leave it at the office and I will come by and pick it up. Here it is January the 3rd and I have still not heard back from Scott.
A very long review but one I feel I had to write. Very disappointed with the attitude towards the whole situation. I felt I was being fair by not asking for reimbursement of Labour, only for the cost of the valve But Scott feels differently. He feels that it was the valve high low motor which was not working. He also said that a spiders web in the orifice would not cause the flame to not to go up or down. It could at least restrict the flow enough to make it look that way. As I was told by fireplace service company's, they also said it also may have been the web not allowing gas flow thru to increase the height . I am also surprised that Dwayne would not have checked this after I told him that the improvement in flame height was very limited. I am still very surprised that when Scott came, I was present for his full inspection, and the only time he turned on the fireplace to observe the flame height was after he did all his checks and found the spiders web. He did not turn on the fireplace before hand to observe the reason for my return request. This in itself makes me think that he already had a good idea what the problem was. Remember he was initially not wanting to come back. I am a retired electrical engineer and understand the workings of most electrical things, and agree tI could be the valve but it was definitely a spider web that was causing the poor performance of the flame the second time,and very possibly the first time also!!!! We can write down anything on a work order. I guess we will never know.

Having said all this if Gas fix service tech had done the required job properly the first time and did not dismiss my complaint so quickly,( I am sure he has worked on Town and Country fireplaces many times and would have known himself that the flame height was not correct.) The excuse of not having ambers on my burner was not the right thing to say to dismiss this poor repair and servicing job. Also if Scott was not so rude, and if they would have taken ownership for poor customer service, and if I had received my parts back I would not be writing this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is unfortunate that you are unhappy with the repair and service that you received from Gas Fix in respect to you Town & Country TC36 fireplace. The situation has not changed since I replied to your text message in November 2019. In this day and age, fake news and misinformation is so common in the news media. Gas Fix does not consider fake news as a basis for issuing a substantial refund.

In an effort to improve communication, training and accuracy, Gas Fix records all calls. When you phoned to arrange a service call you were very clear that the fireplace turned on but there was no Hi-Low control.

On the original service call, Gas Fix determined that the main burner came on but there was no Hi-Low on the flame. Your remote was tested and was operating properly. Inspecting and testing the gas valve by removing the guts of the fireplace on the right hand side confirmed the diagnosis. There was no noise and no operation from the motor control contrary to your statement. The motor was receiving the correct power/voltage from the control system. Until this was corrected, we could not make a determination of the maximum flame height on the burner or any other issues the fireplace may have had.

As an electrical engineer, you know that if the power supply is correct, the fault lies with the component.

Gas Fix returned and installed the new valve. As soon as the valve was installed we reassembled the fireplace and test fired it and the flame was adjustable up and down through the remote control as it was designed to do. THIS CONFIRMS THE CORRECT DIAGNOSIS. A NEW VALVE AND THE Hl-LOW OPERATION RETURNED. Normally the flame improves after the fireplace was on for a while so the tech burned it for a while to check the maximum flame. With the fireplace operating on full it was too hot to touch or do any further diagnosis on it.
I returned on the 5th to check the fireplace. You claimed that I did not turn the fireplace on to observe the fireplace at this time is false. I absolutely turned the fireplace on and used the Hi-Low control several times to see and check the operation. You stood behind me and pointed out the flame height. You said see the flame use to go above the main log. So why are you claiming otherwise?

You claim that Dwayne did not clean the fireplace and then later you said that he cleaned the glass and wiped down the inside of the fireplace. On that model that is the only cleaning possible. There are no fold down doors or louvers on that fireplace to clean behind.

Often you can have primary and secondary issues. Until you correct one there is no indication of the secondary issues. If all you had was a spider issue from the very beginning then you would have still had a Hi-Low control working and that would not have been your complaint and the new gas valve would not have changed anything. But you called us because you did not have a Hi-Low control. The new gas valve gave you that function back to the fireplace and it was required as part of the repair.

Scott Lathe, General Manager

Cory in Stoney Creek
Cory in Stoney Creek
1 review Hamilton, ON

Gas Fireplace Repair [Gasfix}

Our fireplace had a starting issue, their Gasfix tech Dwayne arrived on time, who was very kind and knowledgeable. He diagnosed and fixed the issue quickly, having all parts in stock with him and ready to go. These guys are professional, from giving you an advanced call that they are on route and on time for the service to putting down work sheets to keep area clean and your house flawless while they diagnose and repair. I'm Very pleased with level of service and professionalism. Dwayne is an awesome tech an asset to your company.
Thank you.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Cory for having Dwayne out to service your Instafame fireplace. Dwayne has been with Gas Fix for over ten years now and he has over 25+ years experience in this industry. As noted, we put down a heavy blanket to keep the work area clean as we do our cleaning and diagnostics. Fortunately, your fireplace just needed a little TLC to make it happy again. Though we don't carry all fireparts parts, we do carry over 300+ of the most common parts on our service vehicles. When parts are required, we have them on our vehicle over 95% of the time. Thank you again for your kind comments regarding Dwayne. Should you ever require service in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. In most circumstances, I can arrange a service call with 24 to 72 hours. ~ Jason, Office Administrator ~

Steve in Toronto
Steve in Toronto
4 reviews Oakville, ON

Great service on our gas fireplace, thank you Scott

Our gas fireplace wouldn't turn on; I was at first worried that it was just me being a dummy and not understanding the pilot light, but Scott observed that the on/off switch actually needed replacing, and he patiently and professionally tutored me on all aspects of the pilot light too after thoroughly cleaning and checking the rest of the system, and humoured me by listening to my (incorrect) theories of how it all worked too. Thank you Scott.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Steve for your review and for having Gas Fix service your Heat-N-Glo fireplace. When servicing a gas fireplace, our technicians will test the various electrical components including the ON/OFF circuit. With the testing the technicians complete during a service call, they can determine which part failed and explain to the customer how and why it failed. As we carry over 300+ of the most common parts on the vehicle, we had the ON/OFF switch required to complete the repair to your fireplace. Should you require any service in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. ~ Jason, Office Administrator ~

Melissa in Ancaster
Melissa in Ancaster
0 reviews Hamilton, ON

installation of a gas fireplace with mantel

We were very pleased with the service and installation of Gas Fix. Scott was helpful and informative and we enjoyed working with him. Again, very pleased with the look and service we experienced.
lee cecchini

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and having Gas Fix supply and install your new Continental fireplace. Unfortunately, your prior Cambridge/Clair unit needed a new command centre which is no longer available. When it comes to gas fireplaces, Scott is the expert in the field. We too are pleased that you had a good experience. Should you require any service in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. ~ Jason, Office Administrator ~!

don in Waterloo
don in Waterloo
0 reviews Waterloo, ON

Fireplace service

Gasfix Repair has been my goto for service on my two gas fireplaces for over 10 years. They have always been prompt, clean, honest and friendly. I believe the prices for service and parts used on my units have been fair and their maintenance advice was easy to understand. I would have no problem referring them to others.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Don for your review and for using Gas Fix to service your Instaflame fireplaces for 10+ years. We make the best efforts to advise our customers when we will be there by calling first. Upon arrival, the technicians put down a heavy blanket to ensure the work space is kept clean. We believe our prices for service and parts are in line with the competition. By carrying over 300+ of the most common parts on the service vehicle, we can take care of our customers that same day when others cannot. Should you require any service in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. ~ Jason, Office Administrator ~

Angela in Burlington
Angela in Burlington
2 reviews Burlington, ON

Gas fireplace service

Gasfix was recommended to us by my brother who had great things to say. We had just had a bad experience with another company and we needed the problem fixed. From the initial call with Gasfix right through Scott's speedy visit to our home, the service was awesome! and fair priced. Scott was able to save us a lot of unnecessary expenses from repair work that was not required but suggested from the other company. I would and am recommending Gasfix is to co-workers, neighbors etc. Gasfix is honest, friendly, professional and very knowledgeable. Definately your best choice!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Angela for having Gas Fix service your Majestic gas fireplace. We get a lot of calls for second opinions. Another contractor will go in and tell you need a new fireplace because they don't know how to repair the unit and don't carry the parts to do the repair. Essentially, those service contractors are just an extension of their sales department. Your fireplace just needed some TLC to make it happy again. It also required an ON/OFF switch which we had on the service vehicle. Again, thank you for your review and for recommending us to others. ~ Jason, Office Administrator ~

chris in Hamilton
chris in Hamilton
0 reviews Hamilton, ON

Gas fireplace back to new again!

We have a gas fireplace that is roughly 25 years old. Was serviced in 2009 and then just recently it finally gave up the ghost (it's Halloween !).
These guys are really good and Dwayne was the repairman. Very thorough and professional. Did a super job and very neat and tidy while doing the work....which is so nice to see!

Had to basically change out the entire burner system as it was well out dated and not working.

A heck of lot cheaper than buying a new fireplace !!

Highly recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Chris for contacting Gas Fix and for having Dwayne service your Montigo gas fireplace. Your gas fireplace had a mercury flame switch (MFS). As the MFS is no longer available as it's an obsolete part, the repair is upgrading the operating system with a new gas valve and a new pilot assembly which contains the electrode, pilot tube, thermopile and thermocouple. It's an expensive repair but our technicians always have those parts on their service vehicle and can do the repair in a couple of hours. As you noted, it's much cheaper than spending $4000 to $6000 on a new fireplace. If you need us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. ~ Jason, Office Administrator ~

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Gasfix Repair

GASFIX has been solving problems since 1982, servicing those areas from Grimsby to Etobicoke. Our factory trained technicians specialize in the repair and maintenance of gas fireplaces and pool heaters of all makes and models. We also service furnaces, water heaters and can install gas lines for all your requirements. Contact us today for a quote!

Hamilton/Burlington: (905) 523-8751
Oakville: (905) 845-0701
Mississauga: (905) 816-9710
Brampton: (905) 866-5882
Etobicoke/Toronto: (416) 483-9777

Gas fireplaces that Gas Fix services though not limited to this list include:


At Gas Fix, we recommend an annual “clean and check” to your gas fireplace.

A clean & check service call to your gas fireplace includes:

• Vacuuming out the fireplace
• Blowing out both the burner and the pilot assembly with an air compressor
• Checking all electrical components
• Testing the pilot sensor - Thermopile / Thermocouple
• Checking the safety on the gas valve
• Doing a draft test on the ventilation and a carbon monoxide test
• Cleaning the glass
• Checking the window gasket
• Checking the fan, if applicable
• Checking the fireplace on start up

Our technicians do carry over 300 of the most common gas fireplace parts with them enabling them to provide same day service on your gas fireplace.

Gas pool heaters that Gas Fix services:


A light and check service call to your gas pool heater includes:

• Lighting pilot
• Checking operation of pressure switch
• Checking ON/OFF safety circuit
• Checking for spiders in burner orifices

A clean and check to a Gas Furnace includes:

• Check filter for replacement or upgrade options
• Check all wires for damage and state of repair
• Check all hoses for connections, cracks and past or present water leaks
• Visual camera inspection inside duct work on A coil (AC) and heat exchanger
• Heat rise calculation and compare to manufacturer’s specifications
• Full carbon monoxide test of air ducts and venting
• Full air compressor cleaning and vacuuming to ensure product runs smoothly
• Full inspection report on completion

At Gas Fix, we specialize in the repair, maintenance, service and sales of: * Gas Fireplaces * Gas Pool Heaters * Hot Water Heaters (Conventional and Tankless) * Furnaces * Gas Lines * Gas Appliance Hook-Ups
TSSA Contractor / City of Hamilton Masters & Contractor Trade Licenses
All Gas Fix technicians are TSSA Licensed G2 Gas Technicians & Gas Fix is a TSSA licensed contractor
30 Day Labour Warranty / 90 Day Parts Warranty (Parts must be purchased from & installed by Gas Fix)
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.