Gas Fix

Formerly Gasfix Repair
Fireplaces
601 Burlington Street East Hamilton ON L8L 4J5
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 7 timesBest of 2020winner 7 times

Reviews for Gas Fix

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (295 reviews)

Sort by

Barbara Anderson from Hamilton
Barbara Anderson from Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Gas Fireplace repair

I called for a repair and the next day the job was done. The serviceman came right on time and was very thorough and finished the job quickly and neatly..
Jim Anderson.

Was this review helpful?
Cathy Hecimovich from Oakville
Cathy Hecimovich from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Gas Fireplace

Scott came and fixed my gas fireplace when two other repair people, including the company that installed it could not figure out the problem. He was polite, professional and did a great job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Appreciate the comments Cathy. There is always satisfaction in doing a job right and solving a customers problem. That is especial true with your fireplace, as there were other service people who could not diagnosis the fireplace, solve issues and do the repair. Thanks again. Scott

Garnet Cowsill from Hamilton
Garnet Cowsill from Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
9/10

Fireplace cleaning & repair

Our fireplace wouldn't start one morning. Right in the middle of a February cold alert. Lucky us! We thought it would take days to get a repairman to get our gas fireplace up and running again. We called Gasfix and were delighted to find out they could send out a repairman that same day. Our fireplace was lit and running smoothly before dinner. The price was reasonable. The home service was done quickly and expertly. The repairman was knowledgeable, confident and friendly. The total experience added a bit more warmth to the fire.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Garnet for the review! We were glad that we were able to come out the same day to get your issue resolved.
In peak season, we cannot always come out the same day, but our turn around time is always very short. Because we carry a huge selection of parts with us when we come out to do a service call, even in peak periods, we can most often do a repair in one trip because we have the parts with us. Just another way that Gas Fix tries to provide a better service experience. Sincerely, Scott

Fred Weston in Dundas
Fred Weston in Dundas
2 reviews DUNDAS, ON
10/10

Replace Thermo Couple and Clean Fireplace

Scott took my call and sent out Dwayne to fix Mom's gas fireplace. Dwayne was on time, polite and did an excellent job with getting Mom's gas fireplace back in working order.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Fred. Nice of you to take the time to post a review for us. We try very hard to be punctual and if for some reason, we are running late, all of our service technicians have cell phones to let you know. In this day and age, it is surprising the number of companies that will not call you if they are running late. Best wishes for you and your Mom. Scott

Brian N from Hamilton
Brian N from Hamilton
5 reviews Hamilton, ON
1/10

Basic fireplace cleanup, adjustment

Moved in to our new home which had a gas fireplace. wanted to make sure it was functioning before use.

Called gasfix because of such great reviews on this site. Emailed them for a quote for my fireplace, got the quote and decided to go ahead with the service call.

Quote "A normal clean and safety check would include vacuuming out the fireplace and bringing in a small compressor to blow out area's in behind and on top that we can not get at with the vacuum. We blow out the pilot assembly, burner, and fan assembly. We check the safety on the gas valve, check the electrical circuits, and the safety circuits. We clean the glass, check the window gaskets. On completion we fire up the fireplace and do a draft test and a carbon monoxide test to be sure that you are safe.
A typical service call is $160 plus parts and depending on the part maybe a little labour. This could be a little more if it is a extra large fireplace, has 2 or 3 windows or is extremely dirty."

No additional parts and or cleaning was needed as it is a small fireplace.

The guy came in to do the work, brought in tools made sure he didn't get my new carpet dirty by putting mat down where he was working.

He did his service (which was supposed to be a basic service call cleaning etc) gave me the bill and it was over what i was quoted. Telling me he made adjustments that's why it was so much. Fireplace worked until the next morning when i woke up, with same issue, Contacted Scott to speak to him about service he still has not returned my call/emails sent. Said he'd get back to me in a day. This was last Wed... Got someone else to come in after i sent a video (which was sent to Scott as well, seeing as Scott was not returning my emails/calls)
There was a clog in the line that was causing the issue,
The gasfix tech had said if it happens again it's the gas valve (over 500 for the part).
Apparently not just needed someone who knew what they were doing.

Terrible service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Brian: I’m terribly sorry that you are not happy with our service. In over thirty-five years, I find that most problems are related to communication. We would like to clarify some points that are not noted in your review.

When you first emailed me regarding servicing your fireplace, all you could tell me was that sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn’t work. So it worked intermittently. You did not know the make, model or age. I told you in my reply by email that I could not tell you how much it would cost to repair your fireplace without doing some diagnostics, especially on an intermittent problem. I thought that was clear enough. I could not and did not quote you a price to repair the fireplace.

Our prices do not include HST which is extra and that is normal. By law most companies including Gas Fix cannot include HST in our pricing. The price you are saying you paid includes the HST. This is a little misleading.

I did say that often a clean and check can resolve simple problems. I explained what a clean and check includes as you have listed. As you pointed out, I did tell you that extremely dirty units may be a little more. We arrived to a 30 year old (or older) fireplace that was filthy and charged you a little extra because your fireplace was extremely dirty and did not look like it had ever been cleaned. In addition, we found a wiring issue that could have caused an intermittent problem and repaired that problem. A clean and check does not include repairing any issues discovered during the check/inspection.

We test fired your gas fireplace and ran the fireplace while we did a draft test and while we did a carbon monoxide test and the fireplace worked fine and continued to work while we cleaned up, wrote up the bill and completed the payment. By your own account, the fireplace ran until the next day. Intermittent problems are the hardest to repair, especially when the fireplace works fine while we are there.

Although you said I never returned your calls, you never actually phoned me. All your correspondences were made by email. That is fine but emails are slow. If you had phoned the office that is staffed from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM, we would not have had to reply and could have dealt with your problem on the spot. The office is closed on Sat but the phones are forwarded to our field staff. So when you emailed me a video at 3:21 PM on Saturday, January 19, I did not reply until the beginning of the week. I did return all your emails.

We were prepared to return and tried to contact you to arrange a return call. Gas fix will return and check a fireplace that we serviced for 30 days from the original service date. Seeing the video was helpful. If it had acted up like that on our first call, it would have made the repair much easier.

You also filed a complaint with the BBB. We have submitted all the email correspondence we have in reply and the BBB has closed the file for lack of merit.

At Gas Fix, we strive to provide quality service and care to all our clients. Unfortunately, there are circumstances where no matter how hard we try, it becomes clear that this is not possible. We apologize for any misunderstanding and wish you all the best in the future.

paul tully from Hamilton
paul tully from Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

gas fireplace repair

When my CFM gas fireplace insert stopped working I waited a month before contacting anyone to repair it, as I was fully expecting the repair person to try to sell me a new unit, as CFM is no longer in business.
Scott Lathe from Gas Fix quickly diagnosed the problem and he had the required new parts in his service vehicle.
Not only does my fireplace work properly it looks the best it has in many years.
In closing, as a tradesperson myself, I do NOT have any hesitation in recommending Scott Lathe. My dog Brody thanks you as well, he loves to lay down near the warm fireplace.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Paul. Although CFM has been out of business for a while, we know who in the industry that uses the same parts as CFM did. This means that we have parts that other people will tell you are not available. We did have the parts you needed and you are all set for now. I hope you have many more years of of enjoyment out of your CFM fireplace.

Chris from Toronto
Chris from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Inspect chimney

Work done Nov 2012. I believed the neighbouring infill house had put my chimney out of code, I was amazed when checking with some other contractors advertising as licensed gasfitters, as to how unfamiliar they were with TSSA gas code!! GasFix was recommended to me by the store where I bought my gas insert fireplace. Despite the fact I live in Toronto, Scott was very accomodating and drove out from Hamilton to inspect my chimney. Scott was very knowledgeable, confirmed that there was a code compliance problem with my chimney (caused by a very tall infill house built next door within 10 feet of my chimney), identified exactly which section of the code was in question. His inspection was very helpful when I approached developer of neighbouring property about solving the chimney problem they had caused me. Punctual. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your thoughtful review. I find far too often gas technicians are not as familiar with the gas code as they should be. At Gas Fix, my staff and I are always working to keep up to date with changes in codes and requirements. Normally I would have sent my Toronto staff, but I was in Toronto regularly this year.

Phyllis and Sam Macaluso from Hamilton
Phyllis and Sam Macaluso from Hamilton
2 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

fireplace /gas repair

Scott Lathe of Gas Fix is exceptionally skilled and knowledgeable, completely professional and accurate in his assessment of our fireplace gas problem. His work is thorough, his prices are competitive, and timeline is prompt. He resolved our issue for much less than we expected to pay, and when the work was complete our unit looked brand new and functioned beautifully. His successful work, professional manner and pursuit of excellence instills complete confidence that we highly recommend Gas Fix and Scott Lathe.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I must thank you again for the gift that you so kindly offered me on completion of you service call. I was pleased to be able to receive all the supplies and have the job completed just before Christmas, so you could enjoy your fireplace over the holidays.

Chris from Hamilton
Chris from Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Warranty Service

We had Scott come over for a Warranty issue with our Modern Flames Electric Fireplace. He called us to confirm he was coming in the morning, was punctual and professional. Fixed the issues and even vacuumed before leaving. Thanks Scott!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to post a review here on HomeStars. It is company policy to call the customer when we are finished the previous service call to let the next customer know when they can expect us. In this day and age I can not understand how some contractors can not seem to use a cell phone. As a courtesy we call when we are on our way and if we are running late. I hope you have many years of use of your new fireplace.

KAZ from Toronto
KAZ from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Fireplace Mtce.

Scott called twice to keep us up to date with his arrival time. Once here he was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. We were pleased with the service provided and will use him again.
(Odd billing charges, $93.00 to walk in the front door, then $1.55 per minute there after to do the service = $210.18 for one hour incl. HST + parts)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to post a review here at HomeStars. We appreciate the time you take to do this for us and our future customers.
I value the feedback form your review. In over 40 years in this industry, I have found that the quality of the service technician is proportional to the expense. Outfitting staff with the right equipment can add up very fast. To keep well trained and knowledgeable staff, you need to take good care of them and treat them reasonably. They in turn will be the thorough, knowledgeable staff that I expect them to be and take good care of our customers.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Gas Fix

GASFIX has been solving problems since 1982, servicing those areas from Grimsby to Etobicoke. Our factory trained technicians specialize in the repair and maintenance of gas fireplaces and pool heaters of all makes and models. We also service furnaces, water heaters and can install gas lines for all your requirements. Contact us today for a quote!

Hamilton/Burlington: (905) 523-8751
Oakville: (905) 845-0701
Mississauga: (905) 816-9710
Brampton: (905) 866-5882
Etobicoke/Toronto: (416) 483-9777

Gas fireplaces that Gas Fix services though not limited to this list include:

• ARCHGARD
• CENTURY HEATING
• CFM
• CLARE BROTHERS
• CONTINENTAL
• DOVRE
• DROLET
• DRU
• GSW
• GTI
• HEARTH & HOME
• HEARTHSTONE
• HEAT N GLO
• HEATILATOR
• HERITAGE
• HUNTER
• INSTAFLAME
• JOTUL
• KINGSMAN
• LENNOX
• MAJESTIC
• MHSC
• MONESSEN
• MONTIGO
• NAPOLEON
• NORTHERN FLAME
• OSBURN
• PACIFIC ENERGY
• POLARIS (POLAR)
• PORTLAND WILLAMETTE
• RASMUSSEN
• REGENCY
• RH PETERSON
• SECURITY
• SELKIRK
• TEMCO
• TOWN & COUNTRY
• VALOR
• VERMONT CASTING
• WATERFORD
• WOLF STEEL

At Gas Fix, we recommend an annual “clean and check” to your gas fireplace.

A clean & check service call to your gas fireplace includes:

• Vacuuming out the fireplace
• Blowing out both the burner and the pilot assembly with an air compressor
• Checking all electrical components
• Testing the pilot sensor - Thermopile / Thermocouple
• Checking the safety on the gas valve
• Doing a draft test on the ventilation and a carbon monoxide test
• Cleaning the glass
• Checking the window gasket
• Checking the fan, if applicable
• Checking the fireplace on start up

Our technicians do carry over 300 of the most common gas fireplace parts with them enabling them to provide same day service on your gas fireplace.

Gas pool heaters that Gas Fix services:

• COMFORT ZONE
• GALAXY
• HAYWARD
• JANDY
• MINI MAX
• PENTAIR
• RAYPAK
• RHEEM
• STA-RITE
• TD LAARS
• ZODIAC

A light and check service call to your gas pool heater includes:

• Lighting pilot
• Checking operation of pressure switch
• Checking ON/OFF safety circuit
• Checking for spiders in burner orifices

A clean and check to a Gas Furnace includes:

• Check filter for replacement or upgrade options
• Check all wires for damage and state of repair
• Check all hoses for connections, cracks and past or present water leaks
• Visual camera inspection inside duct work on A coil (AC) and heat exchanger
• Heat rise calculation and compare to manufacturer’s specifications
• Full carbon monoxide test of air ducts and venting
• Full air compressor cleaning and vacuuming to ensure product runs smoothly
• Full inspection report on completion

CATEGORIES
Fireplaces
SERVICES
At Gas Fix, we specialize in the repair, maintenance, service and sales of: * Gas Fireplaces * Gas Pool Heaters * Hot Water Heaters (Conventional and Tankless) * Furnaces * Gas Lines * Gas Appliance Hook-Ups
WEBSITE
http://gasfix.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1999
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
3
PAYMENT METHOD
VISA / MASTERCARD / DEBIT
LICENSES
TSSA Contractor / City of Hamilton Masters & Contractor Trade Licenses
MEMBERSHIPS
TSSA / CFIB / WSIB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
All Gas Fix technicians are TSSA Licensed G2 Gas Technicians & Gas Fix is a TSSA licensed contractor
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
30 Day Labour Warranty / 90 Day Parts Warranty (Parts must be purchased from & installed by Gas Fix)
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.