Clera Windows + Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
31 Pennsylvania Ave. Vaughan ON L4K 5V5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 14 timesBest of 2021winner 14 times

Reviews for Clera Windows + Doors

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (2945 reviews)

Sort by

Mike
Mike
0 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

replace windows

very satisfied with the personal service and with the product itself.

The installers were on time each day and cleaned up perfectly. Pricing was very acceptable

Happy to recommend Ciera to anyone looking to replace windows.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Mike,

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time to provide us with this 10-star review. We're very happy to hear you felt the entire process was perfect and you are satisfied with the results. We deeply appreciate your recommendation and hope to work with you again in the future.

Enjoy the new windows!

Kelly
Kelly
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

Happy Customer

I am not one to write reviews, but I was so impressed with Mike and Jeremy from division 32. Mike answered all of my questions in great depth and was able to provide exactly what I was looking for. I cannot believe how quickly they got the job done. I was also excited about the demonstration I was given once installed as I am that crazy mom that has to have the child safety locks on the windows. I highly recommend!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Kelly! I will make sure to pass on to Mike and Jeremy your positive experience. Your kind words go a long way to motivating everyone at Clera to continue to offer excellent services, great products at great value. It's great to hear that the team took the time to demonstrate how to use the child safety locks. You can never be too safe with small children.

Thank you again for your business and recommendation!

All the best!

Michelle
Michelle
0 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

window replacement

Great experience from beginning to end!
We required a window replacement for our babies' room. Prior to the installation our son's room was cold and loud from road noise. Mike helped us choose the right window for our needs and it was installed in a timely manner. The installers Jeremy and Jon were professional, polite and cleaned up after themselves! The new window has made a huge difference. Thank you! - we will be using Clera again for future projects.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Michelle,

Thank you so much for this glowing 10-star feedback! We are happy to hear about your experience with Mike and Jeremy. Our team is extremely proud of the work that they do and their attention to detail on a project. We look forward to working with you again on all your future projects.

Best wishes to you and your baby!

Moonlight in Toronto
Moonlight in Toronto
2 reviews Markham, ON
8/10

Window and patio doors replacement

CLERA replaced my bay window and patio doors. I’m very happy with their service. They’re very professional. They came on time and did a very good job. My new window and patio doors are beautiful. The only thing I don’t like is that I’ve to do the painting. If they can use the prefinished wood would be ideal!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Moonlight,
Thank you so much for your great review and your support. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

All the best!

pauline
pauline
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

3 Basement Windows

What a difference these windows make! Very smooth process and installation was quick, clean and easy. They took a while to be manufactured but we weren't in a rush and it was definitely worth the wait. They've made such a difference in the basement and added much needed light. Thank you for the great service and we will be doing our next project with Clera.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Pauline,
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us and the public. We apologize for the delay, since Covid-19 we've had several challenges to anticipate but were so happy we could still live up to our standards. We are delighted that you are happy with your new windows and we look forward to assisting you with your new project.

Keep well & safe!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Complete window replacement and patio door

I was very satisfied with the work the guys did. The salesman was very straight forward and helpful. Would recommend to others and family!!!!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Private User,

We appreciate your recommendation, and are delighted to see that our sales rep. and installation team went beyond the call of duty to ensure your satisfaction.
Thank you again for the great review and the 10-stars. Enjoy the new windows and patio door.

We wish you the best!

Sharon Wright
Sharon Wright
0 reviews Newcastle, ON
10/10

Three large windows

Super impressed with service, starting with the estimator Al, who was the most knowledgeable and informative of all the quotes I got.
Installers were a fantastic team. Quick, tidy and extremely polite.thanks to Chase, Mark and Cory.
I will definitely RECOMMEND Clera.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good Day Sharon,

Thank you for the 10-star feedback and your recommendation!. We're happy to hear that everything went off without a hitch. We value your feedback, and it's wonderful to hear that Alan, Chase, Cory and Mark did such a great job and they were able to meet all your expectations. We will make sure to pass on your kind words about their work.

Best wishes!

wdjack in Toronto
wdjack in Toronto
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Window and door replacement

It started with needing to replace 3 windows, and ended up with replacing all the windows, the patio doors and the front door over a 4-year period. The sales person was forthright with no pressure. Had some good design tips and advice on stretching the dollar. The installers were also very good - took their time, cleaned up after themselves, and did a good job with the finishing touches (e.g. new window casings). I've recommended Clera to a couple of neighbours (our houses are all the same age) and family members.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jack,

The Clera team would like to thank you for your recommendation and for this amazing review. Our team of professionals are dedicated to providing you and all our customers with only the best products and services. It's so nice to hear that the sales rep and installation crew helped to make your experience such a positive one.

Enjoy your new windows and door!

All the best!

Rick in Toronto
Rick in Toronto
3 reviews Pickering, ON
0/10

Worst Personal Treatment We Have Ever Had

We live in Durham Region and ordered a large 2 storey window and new concrete sill for the back of our house via John the local Clera sales person.

We placed our order July 21, 2020. Due to COVID still being an issue I had asked John if production was going to be delayed which would have been understandable? He indicated that business was great, the factory was up and running full speed and he did not expect a long wait. He actually wrote that installation would occur in 7-8 weeks on our order which would mean a mid to late September 2020 install. We were surprised but assumed it was true so we signed the order for $6,500.

A couple of weeks after placing the order, I reached out to John via email to let him know that we were having artificial grass installed in our backyard mid September, in the hopes Clera's installation could be scheduled around it. At that time John told me we were now looking at more like 10-12 weeks, he gave no explanation for the delay. This was the last time I ever heard from John.

In December 2020 I received an email from John's wife telling me the window was ready but they did not want to install it because it was cold outside. I told her I thought that was ridiculous and asked for the installation to occur as soon as possible, as it happened my neighbor was having all their windows being replaced at this time so it obviously was not that cold.

I tried to contact John multiple times over the next few months with no response. We were going to move on to a new company.

In early March 2021 I received a communication from the wife of the new Durham region sales person Mike. She indicated our install would occur March 22, 2021.

They arrived with the window March 22, 2021 and could not install it because it did not fit. The brick mould was not wide enough. They also told us that they could not install the new concrete sill due to surrounding brick stability concerns.

On April 1, 2021 they returned and installed the window and the new sill without issue. I spoke to Mike after the install to express our disappointment with the entire process and communication or lack thereof. Some of it certainly felt like bait and switch. It basically took 9 months from order to install. Mike indicated he would take this feedback back to the individual responsible for customer satisfaction and they would probably get back to me.

I waited until April 26, 2021 and then reached out to Mike to let him know I had heard nothing. Today is May 4, 2021 and I still have heard nothing.

Our basic expectation here was pretty simple, an apology from the leadership of Clera. Clera is not a large company, which is one of the reasons we worked with them, I would expect the owner/CEO/President to provide a personal apology in an instance like this. The fact they have not bothered nor even acknowledged the poor experience we had is an indictment on their commitment to customer satisfaction.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Rick,

On behalf of Clera Windows and Doors, I would like to apologize for your frustrating experience with the then Durham region dealer John. John and his wife retired back in December. You have not received a call back from the head office as we were never notified about the issues that you mentioned in your review. The situation you've described is not typical for us, and your feedback has been taken into serious consideration. Your business is very important to us and we'd like to regain your trust. If you are open to discussing this issue in further detail, please contact me at your earliest convenience. Rita at 905-738-1870 x240

Thank you for alerting me to this issue and I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Best regards,

Rita

Bradley Simpson
Bradley Simpson
0 reviews Carleton Place, ON
0/10

Whole house window and door replacement gone wrong! + Poor Customer Service (post install)

Post install service from Clera Head Office is unreliable at best. Whole house window and door replacement gone wrong!!
1. Replacement windows have taken over 3 years to order from discrepancies noted on installation (January 2018). We are still waiting as of today (May 3rd 2021) ordered, made, wrong size. reordered no answer from Clera as when they will be installed.
2. 2 brand new premium Red doors have paint peeling off around the window insert and door handles which where installed on the doors by the installers. Only thing Clera has offered is a touch up paint bottle. We paid extra to have the doors painted Red. This is unacceptable. Again waiting 3 years for a solution. These where brand new and expensive to buy. We expected a superior quality door. Not the case. Cant blame the home owner for work done by their installers.
A touch up paint bottle doesn't work!! plus said it would be shipped directly to us. NOTHING HAS ARRIVED.
Over promised and under delivered.
Very unhappy customers.
Buyer be warned do not buy from Clera Windows and Doors.

UPDATE: Service technician was out again today. Only 1 of 2 replacement windows actually FIT!!! For the SECOND TIME an incorrect window was measured, ordered and shipped to be installed in the WRONG SIZE.

Furthermore, we received another touch up paint bottle for the door paint issue (our 3rd now) which still does not address the issue that finish was faulty to begin with.
Out two front doors need to be completely repainted.

I understand COVID challenges but this started long before the pandemic and is still dragging on. Unacceptable at best.

DOOR SOLUTION: would be to replace the core slabs of the door with new painted core SLABS with proper priming, painting, curing of the paint on doors; then shipped to service tech who can install with the current insert windows ( as they are still ok).

BUYER BEWARE!

Review has 1 previous version
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Bradley,

As per our last conversation, our team is working very hard to ensure your project gets completed for you. We do apologize for any troubles you've had along the way, and we are working diligently to get this completed for you. As you were made aware, we've run into some unforeseeable complications with your product. We desire for all projects to go off without a hitch but with that being said, sometimes errors do occur. Due to the several Covid-19 lockdowns and the lack of employees in the factories along with a shortage of some raw materials industry-wide it has taken us much longer than we expected for your project to be completed. We respect and appreciate the length of time that you've waited and we can undoubtedly understand the frustration this has caused you and we apologize sincerely for this.
You will be contacted as soon as all the replacement parts are ready to be installed.

Thank you for you understanding and patience,

Best Regards,
Rita

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Clera Windows + Doors

Clera Windows + Doors by FM Industries has been manufacturing and installing windows and doors throughout all of Ontario since 1978. They add beauty and value to nearly 1000 homes every month and can easily service the entire province via one of their 37 sales and installation offices.

Clera Windows + Doors has been recognized as one of Canada’s Best 50 Privately Managed Companies and the City of Vaughan’s Company of the Year. Clera was recently awarded the Houzz service award for 2014 and is a proud recipient of the Homestars Best Award for 2012 and 2013. Add to these achievements a stellar A+ Better Business Bureau rating and you’ll understand why Clera Windows + Doors is the best choice for new windows and doors for your home.

We manufacture. We install. You save.

Toronto, East York, Stratford, Goderich, Oshawa, Essex County, Pembroke, Ottawa East, Ottawa West, Kitchener, Orangeville, Welland, Barrie, Newmarket, Peterborough, Belleville, Cobourg, Kingston, Brantford, Guelph, Oakville, Mississauga, Kanata, Brockville, Woodstock, London, Cornwall, Burlington, Hamilton

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
windows and doors, vinyl windows, replacement windows, new windows, casement windows, double hung windows, awning windows, slider windows, fixed windows, replacement windows and doors, new windows and doors,
SERVICES
windows and doors installation, replacement windows installation, new windows installation, brick to brick installation, retrofit installation, custom windows installation, custom colour windows and doors installation
BRANDS
Clera Windows & doors,
STYLES
Casement windows, Fixed Windows, Awning Windows, Double Hung, Single Hung, Double Slider, single slider, bay window, bow window, shaped windows, custom windows, Entry door, Patio Door, Garden Doors, Single Door, Double Door, Sidelites, Transoms, Side Doors, Back doors
SPECIALITIES
Windows and doors installation, selling direct to consumers, no middleman, no hassle, straight talk, honest approach
WEBSITE
http://www.clerawindows.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1978
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
125
RETURN POLICY
None
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Visa, Mastercard, Financing upon approval
MEMBERSHIPS
CSA, IGMAC, ENERGY STAR, BBB, SAWDAC
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Non Prorated Lifetime Warranty.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.