Clera Windows + Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
31 Pennsylvania Ave. Vaughan ON L4K 5V5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 14 timesBest of 2021winner 14 times

Reviews for Clera Windows + Doors

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (3040 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Markham, ON
10/10

New Door

We have used Clera twice before, and always been very happy with their work and product. This spring, Mike notified us of a sale just as we had made the decision that we needed a new side door. This week the door was installed by Denis, and we are extremely pleased with the end result. Something we had not anticipated is that the door, with its larger glass insert, has made the area it opens on to look brighter and wider. We do not hesitate to recommend this company.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Clera Customer,

Thank you so much for being such a valued customer, it has been a pleasure to serve you all these years. In a world filled with so many choices and possibilities, we thank you for selecting Clera windows and Doors once again and for strongly recommending us.

Enjoy the beautiful new look!

Uniquenamehere
Uniquenamehere
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Can't get it done!

*Clera, this an attempt to get you to do something*

I initially contacted Clera in late April 2021 with an interest in receiving a quote for 3 replacement windows on my home. While I had 3 other competitive quotes in hand, including one from a company we had previously used on two separate occasions, we chose to move forward with Clera, and provided a deposit on May 31, 2021. I was advised by the salesperson the window order would take, "about 8 weeks, maybe 10" to complete. It is now the middle of September and we still have no definitive date for completion and installation of the windows we ordered.

What's additionally and arguably more concerning, is the number of inquiries (by email and phone) we have made through the salesperson that have simply been ignored, not responded to when promised or the responses are cryptic or the estimated timelines provided have been completely missed; I've even sent a request through the company's "request for service option" and have yet to receive a response. As a final option we offered to have our deposit returned and we would part ways - not surprisingly, ignored.

COVID restrictions and the salesperson's excuses aside, let me be vividly clear – the appearance is that we've been misinformed throughout.

At this point, the personal time and energy spent in attempting to secure an installation date is beyond ridiculous, should be considered no less than shameful for all involved at Clera and serve as a model for how not to provide customer service!

Looking forward to wrapping this process up soon so we can move passed this company.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Uniquenamehere,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Please contact our head office at 9057381870 and ask to speak to the management team. We definitely give you an answer about the timing on your order. We are unable to identify you by the name on the review. We are working with short staff due to various reasons for few weeks and that's why you didn't get the reply to your request in time. Due to the supply chain shortage and lack of skilled labor in our industry, our lead times have increased but our sales team or office should have notified you of the delays and set up the proper expectations. We sincerely apologize for the delays and looking forward to your call. Thank you - Clera Admin

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

All Windows replacted

Beautiful brick-to-brick installation. I had 11 Windows replaced. The windows are very well insulated and noise dampening is excellent. The installers were very professional and clean. Highly recommend Clera Windows.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Clera Customer,
Thank you for a great review!!! It feels really good when our customers are really happy with Clera products and installations.

Boschtraveller
Boschtraveller
0 reviews Brockville, ON
10/10

Windows And patio door

Jerry and his Brockville crew were professional and courteous. They were able to explain everything succinctly and addressed every problem with our 120 year house. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Customer,
Great to see an excellent review. Jerry is very knowledgeable with every aspect of construction and that's why he is able to explain everything in detail. Thank you for taking time to write the review.

pat in Carleton Place
pat in Carleton Place
1 review Perth, ON
2/10

sliding glass door installation

Our installation of 3 patio doors has been ongoing now for over a year. Jerry is difficult to get hold of and does not follow through with what he promises. It took more than 6 months to get the doors put in initially. The carpenters installing were of high quality but had insufficient time in one day to install adjust and finish door install and trims. There were also manufacturing deficiencies in the doors that needed to be rectified. Lock doesn't work. doors don't slide properly, trims left half finished, caulking not perfect, screens difficult to close. For more than $7000 for 2 doors I would have expected better and more timely follow up. We have been dropped by Jerry in the middle of a job and left to deal with a half finished job for months. I advise you to avoid this sweet talking salesman like the plague.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Pat,
We are extremely sorry for the delays and believe us it's not due to Clera's capability of fulfilling orders. The entire industry is facing a huge challenge due to shortage of materials and suppliers have declared Force Majeure condition with respect to production and shipment of fenestration products in North America. As per Jerry, he has ordered the sash and waiting for the part to arrive from supplier. Everything else has been resolved other than some caulking need to be fixed on exterior. Jerry will reach out to you as soon as we receive part from the supplier and if you like to get the caulking fix in the mean time, please reach out to Jerry. Thank you for your understanding.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Nothing but problems

Got almost 20 windows installed. It's been only a few months and we've had nothing but problems. From bad caulking to unable to close/lock windows...etc etc. If I can get a full refund I would and keep my old 19 year old windows. And if that wasn't enough the sales person stated that they will not be fixing anymore problems until we pay them in full! What an insult

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Clera Customer, We apologize for your bad experience. As per our local branch, we arranged service tech every time you had an issue and they rectified issues in front of you before leaving your house. It's unfortunate that either the same issue or something else keep coming and we sent our service tech every time considering that you would pay the balance amount. The new issue you raised is about the caulking the capping on lintel is not recommended as water needs to run out from behind the brick. Hope you understand that this is not an installation related issue. Thank you - Clera Admin

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
6/10

Bedroom/Hall window

Upon placing the order last September and waiting a total of 17 weeks, which was more than double the proposed 8 weeks from order date to installation, for 4 windows, we are pleased with the function and look of the windows overall.
I was disappointed that the staff did not communicate their awareness of potential delays at the time of ordering, or at any point after the projected 8 weeks. It was a complete surprise when we finally had an install date.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you like the final product. We totally agree that our local branch should have kept you informed of the delays we are facing in our industry. Hope you enjoy your windows for long time. Thanks- Clera Admin

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Great service, Reliable Product

Great service and installation of new new windows. Quotes were received quickly and despite expected covid delays, installation was done 2 weeks early! I would definitely recommend.

What I would NOT recommend is wasting your time with Renewal by Anderson. After a belaboured 2 hour sales pitch, be prepared for sticker shock. 9 times the price!! I’m completely comfortable playing for premium but this was absurd. Sales person was misleading with competitive information (do your homework on % of virgin vinyl) to help sell.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Clera Customer, We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and really happy that you like your new Clera products and installation.
Thank you for choosing Clera windows and doors.

Barbara
Barbara
0 reviews Smiths Falls, ON
10/10

8 windows replaced

A big thank you to Jerry for his excellent service and for organizing a professional and courteous crew to come down and install my windows in record breaking time.
The end result is fantastic. The windows look great. I wouldn't hesitate to use this company again and highly recommend to others.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Barbara for your business and positive feedback. There is nothing more rewarding than seeing a great review from a very satisfied customer.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Windsor, ON
10/10

New windows

Clera Windows replaced 20+ windows on the first floor of our house. Our expectations were high to begin with, and Clera exceeded our expectations with a prompt and professional installation. All windows look and perform great. Would definitely recommend Clera for any replacement window projects.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you being a perfect customer for us and wish you enjoy your windows and doors for long time.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Clera Windows + Doors

Clera Windows + Doors by FM Industries has been manufacturing and installing windows and doors throughout all of Ontario since 1978. They add beauty and value to nearly 1000 homes every month and can easily service the entire province via one of their 37 sales and installation offices.

Clera Windows + Doors has been recognized as one of Canada’s Best 50 Privately Managed Companies and the City of Vaughan’s Company of the Year. Clera was recently awarded the Houzz service award for 2014 and is a proud recipient of the Homestars Best Award for 2012 and 2013. Add to these achievements a stellar A+ Better Business Bureau rating and you’ll understand why Clera Windows + Doors is the best choice for new windows and doors for your home.

We manufacture. We install. You save.

Toronto, East York, Stratford, Goderich, Oshawa, Essex County, Pembroke, Ottawa East, Ottawa West, Kitchener, Orangeville, Welland, Barrie, Newmarket, Peterborough, Belleville, Cobourg, Kingston, Brantford, Guelph, Oakville, Mississauga, Kanata, Brockville, Woodstock, London, Cornwall, Burlington, Hamilton

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
windows and doors, vinyl windows, replacement windows, new windows, casement windows, double hung windows, awning windows, slider windows, fixed windows, replacement windows and doors, new windows and doors,
SERVICES
windows and doors installation, replacement windows installation, new windows installation, brick to brick installation, retrofit installation, custom windows installation, custom colour windows and doors installation
BRANDS
Clera Windows & doors,
STYLES
Casement windows, Fixed Windows, Awning Windows, Double Hung, Single Hung, Double Slider, single slider, bay window, bow window, shaped windows, custom windows, Entry door, Patio Door, Garden Doors, Single Door, Double Door, Sidelites, Transoms, Side Doors, Back doors
SPECIALITIES
Windows and doors installation, selling direct to consumers, no middleman, no hassle, straight talk, honest approach
WEBSITE
http://www.clerawindows.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1978
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
125
RETURN POLICY
None
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Visa, Mastercard, Financing upon approval
MEMBERSHIPS
CSA, IGMAC, ENERGY STAR, BBB, SAWDAC
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Non Prorated Lifetime Warranty.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.