Encore Windows & Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
500 Alden Road, Unit 6 Markham ON L3R 3L4
Write a Review
Write a Review

Daniel Bader
Daniel Bader
4 reviews Toronto, ON

A profound disappointment

It took me a long time to decide to write this, but as I sit in my office next to a window that inadequately keeps the cold air out, and after countless (literally more than I can count) calls to my salesperson, Dave (who has admittedly been responsive, if not helpful, each time), I feel this negative review needs to be left, along with an explanation.

Encore was brought to my attention through a contractor I trust, and the initial quote and sales process was superb. Dave walked through the house, sent people to measure the windows (seven in all) and scheduled the work promptly. The windows themselves appeared to be of extremely high quality and I was happy with the decisions.

But problems started with the installers themselves who, because they wanted to get it done in a single day, cut corners that led to dozens of hours of followup and additional issues. Not only was a profound mess left inside my house, with my walls not just scuffed but scratched from various boxes and other sharp objects careless dragged across them, but the windows themselves were not adequately caulked, leading to leaks inside the house causing damage. The installers also failed to properly install a door, leading to even more leaks.

Throughout all this, Dave has been responsive and has put up with a lot. I do appreciate that. But the install was so bad, and the problems so pervasive, that unless the company compensates me for my trouble, or pays for installation, I will stand by my lack of a recommendation.

I am happy to chat with anyone who wants to use this company beforehand, as people need to understand what they're getting themselves into.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Daniel it took us a long time to write a response as your review score has left us dumbfounded.You acknowledge in your review that we did follow up and address all your concerns as they arose. We tested the windows, we had them inspected by a Window Wise engineer.We re-caulk the whole front of the house when there was a possible deficiency. The door issue was attributed to a design weakness associated with outswing doors which was rectified. You also acknowledge that some of the issues stemmed from a deficiency in your roof. Our communication has been open and has been always followed up with action. Our last visit was on December 21st from an email we received the same day about a possible air leakage in your living room window; we used a candle (simple and effective) and determined the cold air you felt was due to convection which is prevalent when the glass area is large in relation to the size of the wall it occupies. We offered a plan and solutions and the response we received was this review. Daniel our line of communication is open if you wish to discuss this further.